Plan
Public claim only
DeepL Pro / Business / Write Pro. Consumer DeepL (free) is different. Pro markets 'No data training'.
Ask: Confirm Pro/Business not free.
General-purpose · Drafting assistants · Medium confidence
DeepL SE · DeepL Pro, Business and Write Pro. Free DeepL is out of scope (training terms differ).
Machine translation and writing assistant. Pro marketing states no data training. EU vendor. Access control and certifications were not on the Pro marketing page.
Opens a private software assessment of DeepL Pro / Write Pro for one task, with this profile’s questions to hand.
| Deployment | SaaS |
|---|---|
| Hosting regions | European Union / EEA, Unknown |
| Australian region | Unknown |
| Model providers | DeepL |
| Assurance | GDPR: the vendor's own page states "g?w=1024&fm=webp&q=85) ## Rigorous regulatory compliance and data protection DeepL adheres to the GDPR—one of the strictest data protection and privacy laws worldwide—ensuring your d" (https://www.deepl.com/en/pro-data-security, checked 2026-10-10)., HIPAA: the vendor's own page states "it logs give compliance teams visibility and control over DeepL account activity. - DeepL achieved HIPAA compliance, extending its security standards to organizations handling protecte" (https://www.deepl.com/en/blog/new-security-features-innovation, checked 2026-10-10)., ISO 27001: the vendor's own page states "erprise SOC 2 Type 2 compliance - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise ISO 27001 certified - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise TLS" (https://www.deepl.com/pro, checked 2026-10-10). |
| Training on customer content | No |
| Retention summary | Pro page: texts are never stored or used for model training without your consent. That is not a statement that texts are never stored.Retention summary source, checked 2026-10-10 (opens in a new tab) |
| Pricing summary | Pro and Business SKUs are publicly listed; exact amounts were not cleanly extracted in this scrape. A vendor page checked 2026-10-10 states "$7.49 per user/month (billed annually)". |
| Australian presence | Unknown — EU-based vendor; AU residency not stated. |
A later research check disagrees with a value already on this profile. The published value is unchanged.
Define the configuration, people, information and tasks being assessed.
Public claim only
DeepL Pro / Business / Write Pro. Consumer DeepL (free) is different. Pro markets 'No data training'.
Ask: Confirm Pro/Business not free.
Public claim only
SaaS translation. EU company.
Ask: Which data centre region?
Public claim only
Translation and Write Pro writing assistant.
Ask: CAT tool / Word add-in?
Not confirmed
German/EU vendor; AU residency not on the Pro page extract.
Ask: AU or EU-only processing?
Record the practical work needed to introduce and maintain the software.
Public claim only
Pro is a paid individual/team SKU; Business listed. Amounts not extracted cleanly. A vendor page checked 2026-10-10 states "$7.49 per user/month (billed annually)".
Ask: Itemised quote.
Not confirmed
Integrations not fully listed.
Ask: SSO on Business?
Not confirmed
Not specified.
Ask: SLA?
Compare complete work at the required quality, including checking and correction.
Not confirmed
No legal-translation benchmark here.
Ask: Legal-term accuracy AU/UK?
Not confirmed
Fit for translating non-privileged or already-approved text. Privileged matter needs the Pro no-training contract and access controls.
Ask: Approved document classes?
Compare the actual configuration with firm, client and jurisdiction requirements, supported by evidence.
Not confirmed
Translated client documents.
Ask: Client disclosure?
Public claim only
DeepL's own models marketed.
Ask: Any third-party LLM?
Not confirmed
Not listed on Pro marketing.
Ask: List?
Public claim only
Pro page: No data training. Put in the contract; free tier is different.
Ask: Signed no-training for Pro/Business including logs?
Not confirmed
Not specified.
Ask: Feedback training?
Not confirmed
Pro historically does not store texts; confirm current.
Ask: Is text stored after translation?
Not confirmed
If stored, deletion terms?
Ask: Deletion on exit?
Not confirmed
Not specified.
Ask: Staff access to texts?
Not confirmed
Business admin unknown here.
Ask: SSO/SCIM?
Not confirmed
Not on Pro marketing extract.
Ask: TLS/AES?
Public claim only
Certifications not on the Pro marketing extract. GDPR: the vendor's own page states "g?w=1024&fm=webp&q=85) ## Rigorous regulatory compliance and data protection DeepL adheres to the GDPR—one of the strictest data protection and privacy laws worldwide—ensuring your d" (https://www.deepl.com/en/pro-data-security, checked 2026-10-10). HIPAA: the vendor's own page states "it logs give compliance teams visibility and control over DeepL account activity. - DeepL achieved HIPAA compliance, extending its security standards to organizations handling protecte" (https://www.deepl.com/en/blog/new-security-features-innovation, checked 2026-10-10). ISO 27001: the vendor's own page states "erprise SOC 2 Type 2 compliance - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise ISO 27001 certified - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise TLS" (https://www.deepl.com/pro, checked 2026-10-10). SOC 2: the vendor's own page states "- Enterprise Bring your own key - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise SOC 2 Type 2 compliance - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterpri" (https://www.deepl.com/pro, checked 2026-10-10).
Ask: SOC/ISO?
Not confirmed
Pro terms not inspected.
Ask: DPA, forum (likely DE/EU)?
Public claim only
EU vendor; still confirm subprocessors.
Ask: APP 8?
Not confirmed
Not specified.
Ask: Notice timeline?
Not confirmed
Write Pro expanding.
Ask: Notice?
Not confirmed
Not specified.
Ask: Export glossary then delete?
Not confirmed
API/CAT possible.
Ask: Enabled connectors?
Not confirmed
Translation product.
Ask: Any web grounding?
Not confirmed
In-place rewrite/translate.
Ask: Require accept of changes?
Not confirmed
Lawyer must check legal translations.
Ask: Review log?
Official pages reviewed for this profile, last reviewed 2026-10-10.
Add this product to your toolset for a particular task, or use it with a practice-area checklist. Add to your toolset Practice areas Best AI drafting assistants tools Australia