Product and intended use
Define the configuration, people, information and tasks being assessed.
In-house OS with agents
Public claim only
Products include contract review, drafting (Blueprints), assistant, agents, reports, repositories, research and intake. Built for in-house teams, not law-firm billing. Confirm which modules are on the Order Form.
Ask: Which plan includes SSO, agents and MCP, and which models?
AWS EU default
Public claim only
Hosted on AWS; EU data residency by default, US available. No Australian region described.
Ask: Can we obtain ap-southeast-2, or only EU/US?
Review, agents, intake
Public claim only
Integrations and product nav: contract review and redlining in Word, playbook drafting, AI assistant, agents that handle inbound Slack/Teams/email, repositories over iManage/SharePoint/Google Drive, research and intake. Agents can finish routine NDAs without lawyer involvement if so configured.
Ask: Which of review, agents, intake and MCP will be on?
England and Wales contract
Public claim only
Wordsmith AI Ltd, company 15250293, England and Wales. Contract governed by England and Wales law; exclusive courts of England and Wales. Not a licensed Australian primary-law product. Research feature exists; corpus jurisdictions are not specified on pages reviewed.
Ask: Does Research cover Australian law, and will we sign under English law?
Adoption and implementation
Record the practical work needed to introduce and maintain the software.
No public unit price
Public claim only
Pricing page has no seat price. FAQ: limited reports on a free trial; full reports need a Pro or Enterprise conversation. White-glove implementation for enterprise. Terms: fees per Order Form; liability cap is the higher of £10,000 or Fees in the prior 12 months.
Ask: Provide an itemised quote (AUD/GBP) and confirm the liability cap in the Order Form.
Word, Slack, iManage, MCP
Public claim only
Integrations: Microsoft Word redlines, Slack and Teams Ask Legal, Outlook/Gmail, iManage, SharePoint, Google Drive, MCP/API (CRM, notes, spreadsheets), Zapier/n8n, plus named MCP examples Slack, Notion, Confluence, HubSpot, Jira, Ironclad. SSO via Okta, Azure AD, Google Workspace on the security page.
Ask: List connectors on our tenant and the data each receives.
Paying-customer support
Public claim only
Pricing FAQ: customer support to all paying customers; white-glove implementation for enterprise. Terms: services with reasonable care and skill; no uptime warranty. Status page linked as status.wordsmith.ai (not scraped).
Ask: Provide the Sev-1 SLA and security@ escalation path.
Data, controls and requirements
Compare the actual configuration with firm, client and jurisdiction requirements, supported by evidence.
Business-channel intake
Not confirmed
Agents receive requests in Teams, Slack, email or wherever the business asks. Enabling those channels is the customer's authority decision. Privacy: personal data in a prompt is shared with the model.
Ask: What disclosure do requesters see, and can we keep agents internal-legal-only?
OpenAI Anthropic Gemini
Public claim only
Uses OpenAI, Anthropic (Claude) and Google (Gemini) via paid enterprise APIs under ZDR.
Ask: Can we disable a provider?
Vanta list (5)
Public claim only
Vanta subprocessors page (read 2026-09-21): Amazon Web Services (cloud), Microsoft Azure / Azure OpenAI (cloud), Pinecone (vector database), CloudConvert (document management), DeepL (translation API). Listed as 5 of 5 results. Security FAQ also names OpenAI, Anthropic and Google Gemini enterprise APIs under ZDR — those three are not rows on the Vanta table.
Ask: Reconcile OpenAI/Anthropic/Gemini with the Vanta five, and provide change-notice terms.
No training + ZDR
Public claim only
Terms cl 3.2.1: Wordsmith will not train any generative AI large language model or any other machine learning models with the Inputs. Security FAQ: ZDR with OpenAI, Anthropic and Google Gemini enterprise APIs; prompts/outputs not stored by providers. Privacy: prompts shared with those models on a no-training basis.
Ask: Confirm cl 3.2.1 also binds Azure OpenAI, Pinecone and DeepL, and attach the DPA.
Not used to improve for others
Public claim only
Security FAQ: Wordsmith does not use customer data to train its AI models or improve the platform for other customers. Privacy: website/customer records may be used per that policy; product prompts are shared with models on a no-training basis.
Ask: Does the signed DPA prohibit using prompts, ratings or traces to improve shared systems?
Custom policies; 6-year customer records
Public claim only
Security FAQ: custom retention policies; permanent deletion on demand. Terms: delete or return content within 30 days after expiry. Privacy (controller records): basic customer information kept 6 years after they cease being customers. Model providers: ZDR / prompts not stored.
Ask: State default days for chats, uploads, embeddings and logs versus the 6-year customer-record clock.
30-day post-term deletion
Public claim only
Terms cl 10.6: upon termination, Wordsmith will delete or return (at the customer's request) all content of the Customer and its users within 30 days after the Contract has expired. Security FAQ: data can be permanently deleted at any time; on termination all customer data is permanently deleted.
Ask: Will you certify deletion including Azure OpenAI, Pinecone, CloudConvert and DeepL?
Least privilege; Slack auth note
Public claim only
Security: internal access follows least privilege. Privacy: access limited to those with a genuine business need; duty of confidentiality. Vanta overview mentions Slack-based user authentication for Wordsmith's own systems — that is a vendor-staff control, not a customer SSO description.
Ask: Who can read our matters, from which countries, and can we see access logs?
SSO
Public claim only
OIDC and SAML 2.0 with Okta, Azure AD, Google Workspace; MFA and RBAC for enterprise.
Ask: Is SCIM included?
TLS and AES-256
Public claim only
TLS in transit, AES-256 at rest.
Ask: Does AES-256 cover embeddings and logs?
SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 in progress
Public claim only
SOC 2 Type II and GDPR; annual independent pen tests; ISO 27001 in progress. Docs in Trust Center.
Ask: Provide current SOC 2 and pen-test summary.
English ToS; DPA gated
Public claim only
Public Terms (Wordsmith AI Ltd): England and Wales law and courts; DPA and privacy incorporated by reference (Vanta resources URL). Two DPA versions on Vanta (before / from 3 September 2026) are request-access, not extracted. Liability cap: higher of £10,000 or 12 months' Fees. Cl 3.2.1: will not train generative or other ML models with Inputs.
Ask: Provide the DPA effective 3 September 2026 and confirm the cap for confidentiality/privacy claims.
EU or US
Public claim only
EU default, US available. Australia not offered on the security page.
Ask: APP 8 analysis for EU/US inference.
72-hour notification claimed
Public claim only
Security FAQ: formal incident response plan; confirmed breach — notify affected customers within 72 hours or as required by law. Privacy: notify where legally required (no hour count). Incident Response Plan on Vanta is request-access, not extracted. Not restated as a numbered ToS clause in the extract reviewed.
Ask: Is 72 hours in the signed DPA, and any incidents in 24 months?
changes
Public claim only
Vanta publishes a five-row subprocessor list. No subprocessor or model change-notice period was found in the public Terms extract. DPA text is request-access.
Ask: What notice before a new model or processor, and can we object under the 3 September 2026 DPA?
Delete or return in 30 days
Public claim only
Terms cl 10.6: delete or return all customer and user content within 30 days after expiry. Security FAQ: permanent deletion on termination. Export format is not specified.
Ask: What export format do we receive, and certified deletion within those 30 days including subprocessors?
Optional MCP and knowledge sources
Not confirmed
Optional Word, Slack, Teams, mail, iManage, SharePoint, Google Drive, MCP (CRM, Jira, Ironclad, Zapier, n8n). MCP can query CRM, log to spreadsheets and trigger workflows. Enabling them is the customer's choice.
Ask: List every connector and MCP tool on our workspace.
webSearch
Not confirmed
Not documented on the pages reviewed in this pass.
Ask: Provide current contractual evidence for this control.
Agents can act without a human step
Not confirmed
Agents FAQ: an agent receives a request, retrieves context, applies the playbook, drafts a response or redline, and routes for approval or sends — all without human intervention at each step. Routine low-risk work can be end-to-end with no human in the loop; the team sets autonomy per agent. MCP can trigger workflows across platforms.
Ask: Which agent/MCP actions can send email or write to Slack/CLM without a second Legal confirmation?
Not advice; check before acting
Public claim only
Terms cl 9.3: outcomes are general information, not advice; no solicitor-client relationship; obtain professional or specialist advice before taking or refraining from any action on the basis of outputs. Pricing FAQ: AI can make mistakes; reports need to be checked; citations offered. Agents still allow no-human-in-the-loop for routine work if configured that way.
Ask: Can we force every agent output to a named lawyer queue before send, including NDA Agent?