Legal-specific · Legal research · Medium confidence

Paxton

Paxton AI, Inc. · Paxton AI SaaS as documented on paxton.ai security, terms and subprocessor pages (US processing).

US legal AI research/assistant platform with published subprocessors in US cloud regions.

Opens a private software assessment of Paxton for one task, with this profile’s questions to hand.

Legal researchDocument summarisation
Published facts
DeploymentSaaS
Hosting regionsUnited States
Australian regionNo
Model providersGoogle Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Amazon Web Services
AssuranceSOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA (claimed)
Training on customer contentUnknown
Retention summaryPrivacy: personal information kept while the user has an account, then deleted or anonymised; backups isolated until deletion is possible. No numbered product-content clock.
Pricing summaryPublic Individual plan USD 499/user/month or USD 2,999/user/year with a 7-day trial. Enterprise is custom volume-based pricing with onboarding and an account manager.
Legal content coverageUS federal and all-50-state statutes, regulations and case law listed on the coverage page. No Australian primary-law library.
Australian presenceNo — Subprocessor processing countries listed as US only as at 5 March 2025.

Product and intended use

Define the configuration, people, information and tasks being assessed.

Paxton AI

Public claim only

US legal AI platform with published security, terms and subprocessor pages.

Ask: Which plan and modules are we buying?

US cloud

Public claim only

Production Customer Personal Data is processed in Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure and AWS, all listed as US (subprocessor list 5 March 2025).

Ask: Is any non-US region available?

Drafting and US research

Public claim only

Platform: Quick-Start Drafting with authority links, document analysis with source highlighting, contextual research, medical chronologies and billing summaries. Coverage page lists US federal and all-50-state databases.

Ask: Which modules (research, drafting, medical chronologies) are on our Individual vs Enterprise order?

US library only

Public claim only

Coverage is US Code, CFR, Supreme Court and all 50 states plus some territories. No Australian primary law is listed. Terms: Services hosted in the United States; California law and AAA arbitration.

Ask: Is any Australian content available, or is this US-only for an Australian firm?

Adoption and implementation

Record the practical work needed to introduce and maintain the software.

Public Individual price

Public claim only

Pricing page (read 2026-09-21): Individual USD 499 per user/month or USD 2,999 per user/year (stated 50% saving), 7-day free trial. Enterprise is custom volume-based pricing. Terms cap liability at fees paid in the prior six months.

Ask: Is GST/withholding addressed, and does Enterprise replace the consumer-style Terms?

Enterprise account manager

Public claim only

Enterprise includes dedicated onboarding, workflow setup, priority support and an account manager. Individual has a Help Center (help.paxton.ai / gitbook). No public Sev-1 hours.

Ask: What is the contractual Sev-1 response time on our order?

Quality and human effort

Compare complete work at the required quality, including checking and correction.

US research and first-pass drafts

Public claim only

Marketed as a co-pilot that drafts motions/contracts/letters, summarises depositions and searches US case law with citations. Disclaimer: not a law firm; information is not legal advice. Checking time is not measured.

Ask: Show a typical research memo and the time a US-qualified lawyer spends verifying citations.

Data, controls and requirements

Compare the actual configuration with firm, client and jurisdiction requirements, supported by evidence.

Not privileged; customer direction

Public claim only

Footer and disclaimer: self-help at the user's specific direction; not a law firm; communications are not attorney-client privilege or work product. Customer decides what client files to upload.

Ask: What client disclosure do we use before uploading matter files into a US-hosted tool?

US cloud LLMs unnamed

Public claim only

Subprocessor list (5 March 2025): Google Cloud Platform, Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services each listed as cloud infrastructure and 'Language Learning Model', processing in the US. Foundation-model brand names (OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini) are not stated.

Ask: Name each foundation model, the contracting entity and whether Azure OpenAI vs public OpenAI is used.

List

Public claim only

Dated 5 March 2025 list; GCP, Azure, AWS in the US; DPA on request via legal@paxton.ai; change notice via a Typeform signup. The page says it does not give additional contractual rights.

Ask: Confirm we are subscribed to notices and that the DPA is signed.

No-training FAQ vs improve-Services privacy

Not confirmed

Platform FAQ: all data is encrypted, never used for model training, and remains fully private. Privacy: personal information may be processed 'to evaluate and improve our Services, products, marketing, and your experience.' Those two statements are not the same as a no-training DPA clause.

Ask: Does the signed DPA prohibit training of Paxton or third-party models on prompts, documents and outputs?

Improve Services

Public claim only

Privacy: personal information may be processed to evaluate and improve Services, products, marketing and experience. No separate product-feedback toggle is described.

Ask: Is improvement use limited to aggregated telemetry, and can we contract it out?

Account-life personal data

Public claim only

Privacy: personal information kept as long as needed for stated purposes, and no purpose requires keeping it longer than the period users have an account. Then delete or anonymise; if stuck in backups, isolate until deletion is possible. Product-content / embedding clocks are not numbered.

Ask: State default retention for chats, uploads, embeddings and logs, including model-provider ZDR.

Account and privacy deletion

Public claim only

Privacy: users may review, update or delete personal information collected (s 15). Terms: Paxton may terminate and delete the account and posted content at any time without warning. No certified 30-day deletion of matter files on customer exit.

Ask: On our exit, will you certify deletion of uploads, embeddings and subprocessors within 30 days?

Least access; quarterly reviews

Public claim only

Security page: quarterly access reviews and principle of least access so only authorised personnel have access to sensitive data. Countries of staff access are not named. Privacy: technical and organisational measures claimed, no 100% guarantee.

Ask: Who can read our files, from which countries, and can we see access logs?

Enterprise admin; SSO not stated

Public claim only

Enterprise pricing lists administrative controls and user management. Security: least access and quarterly reviews. SSO/SCIM/MFA are not described on security or pricing.

Ask: Confirm SSO/SCIM/MFA on our tenant and export of a complete audit log.

In transit and at rest

Public claim only

Security: advanced encryption protocols in transit and at rest. Algorithms (TLS/AES versions) are not named. Trust centre lists full-device or container-based encryption as an endpoint control, not a product-data spec.

Ask: Name TLS and at-rest algorithms on the model path, including embeddings.

SOC/ISO/HIPAA

Public claim only

SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA badges. Reports not inspected.

Ask: Provide current reports with scope.

Terms and DPA

Public claim only

Public terms of service exist. DPA is offered by email, not published as a standard attachment in this pass.

Ask: Provide the signed DPA, liability and governing law.

Incident awareness control

Public claim only

Trust centre controls include 'Situational Awareness For Incidents'. No contractual notification period (e.g. 72 hours) was found on terms, privacy or trust extracts.

Ask: State the contractual notification period and any incidents in 24 months.

Typeform subprocessor notices

Public claim only

Subprocessor page: customers can sign up via Typeform to be notified of subprocessor changes; the list itself is an advisory that does not give additional contractual rights. Terms: Paxton may change, suspend or discontinue Services at any time without notice.

Ask: What notice before a new model or processor, and can we object under a signed DPA?

Optional social-account linking

Not confirmed

Terms allow linking Third-Party Accounts (social logins). Enabling those is the customer's choice. No DMS/PMS connectors were documented on pages reviewed.

Ask: List every connector on our tenant and disable social login if unused.

Not legal advice

Public claim only

Disclaimer (16 June 2023) and site footer: the Site cannot contain legal advice; consult appropriate professionals before acting; use is at the user's own risk. No in-product lawyer-approval gate is described.

Ask: Can we require a named lawyer to approve every research output before it leaves the draft workspace?

Sources

Official pages reviewed for this profile, last reviewed 2026-09-21.

Related tasks

Related tools

Add this product to your toolset for a particular task, or use it with a practice-area checklist. Add to your toolset Practice areas Best AI legal research tools Australia