Legal-specific · Document management and knowledge · Medium confidence
iManage Insight+
iManage LLC · iManage Insight+ in iManage Cloud, including Ask Knowledge and the curation workflow. Cloud only per the vendor. On-premises Insight / Knowledge Unlocked, Ask iManage, AI Enrichment and the MCP Server need separate review.
Knowledge search and curation product over content already in iManage Work: it joins documents and emails to matter, expertise and business-system data, and answers questions in natural language from curated collections.
Opens a private software assessment of iManage Insight+ for one task, with this profile’s questions to hand.
Knowledge search
Published facts
Deployment
SaaS
Hosting regions
Unknown
Australian region
Unknown
Assurance
SOC 2 (a 2026 Type 2 SOC 2+ report and an August 2026 bridge letter are listed on the compliance portal behind a request-access approval), ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO 27701, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, ISO 22301 (certificate listed in the portal resources), CSA STAR Level 2, EU-US Data Privacy Framework, UK Extension and Swiss-US Data Privacy Framework (the privacy notice states the self-certification does not apply to processing in Australia or India), Scope note: these are iManage-wide entries on the compliance portal; no document read states that Insight+ is inside the certified scope, and no penetration-test summary is listed for Insight+
Training on customer content
Unknown
Retention summary
The terms of service say that where iManage uses AI Services it 'will process and store your inputs and outputs solely for the purpose of providing the Services'; no period is stated. The privacy notice retains personal information only as long as reasonably necessary and allows anonymised information to be used indefinitely for research or statistical purposes. No retention period is published for the enriched Insight+ index, for curated collections or for Ask Knowledge prompts and answers.
Integrations
iManage Work, Power Automate (curation workflow), Model Context Protocol (MCP) for AI tooling, Ask iManage, Business systems supplying structured data (not named on the page read)
Pricing summary
No price is published: the product page carries no pricing and does not say whether Insight+ is a separate subscription or part of an iManage Cloud plan (checked 2026-09-27). The terms of service say that for customers the governing agreement is the Cloud Services Agreement, which is not published, so the pricing unit for Insight+ and for Ask Knowledge could not be established.
Australian presence
Yes — No Australian contracting entity and no ACN or ABN were found. The terms of service say that outside Europe, the Middle East and Africa 'your agreement is with iManage LLC, a Delaware limited liability company', and that for customers the governing agreement is the unpublished Cloud Services Agreement. The published subprocessor list records iManage LLC, 71 South Wacker Drive, Chicago, with the annotation 'Including Australian branch office' and processing location 'Australia & United States', and names NEXTDC Limited as a data-centre provider in Australia for 'Multiple iManage Cloud Services - data storage only' without saying which services those are. The privacy notice says iManage has a presence in Australia and that its Data Privacy Framework self-certification 'does not apply to processing in Australia or India'. Nothing read states that Insight+ itself is available in an Australian region: the word Australia does not appear on the Insight+ page, and the one subprocessor row naming Insight+ Curation states both 'Processing Location - Customer selected region' and 'United States'. The Insight+ page links a customer story headed 'Allens uses artificial intelligence to surface relevant insights from vast library of curated documents', described on the tile as a 'Pioneering international law firm'; that story page was not opened and the tile does not state the firm's country, so no Australian customer is recorded here.
Product and intended use
Define the configuration, people, information and tasks being assessed.
Product, plan and endpoint
Public claim only
The product page states 'Insight+ is available exclusively in iManage Cloud' and, on the on-premises predecessor, 'Support for existing deployments remains ongoing' (read 2026-09-27). The page carries no pricing and does not say whether Insight+ is a separate subscription or part of an iManage Cloud plan. The published terms of service say that for customers 'the governing agreement will be the Cloud Services Agreement', which is not published anywhere found.
Ask: Is Insight+ a separate line item or part of an iManage Cloud tier, and which Order Form items cover Ask Knowledge and the curation workflow?
The page says Insight+ is 'Built natively for the iManage Cloud' and available only there, so deployment is cloud. No hosting region is named for it: the iManage Cloud FAQ says only that 'The iManage Cloud has a global footprint in order to ensure global data storage and processing compliance', and the word Australia does not appear on the Insight+ page (both read 2026-09-27). The separate AI Enrichment page does list regions including Australia, but that is a different product and cannot be read across.
Ask: In which iManage Cloud regions can Insight+ and Ask Knowledge be provisioned today, and is the Australian region one of them?
The page states Insight+ surfaces documents, matters and knowledge 'using context-driven discovery based on more than 100 metadata fields - not just keyword matches', combines Matter Search, extended metadata, curated collections and structured business data, and adds curation workflows to iManage Work in which professionals submit knowledge assets while knowledge teams 'enrich, publish, maintain, and archive collections using Power Automate'. Dual Landing Pages are described as tailored entry points into collections (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Which of these functions are generally available today, and which are roadmap or early-access items for an Australian tenant?
Insight+ is described as operating on the firm's own content rather than a published law library: it enriches documents and emails with 'matters, expertise, and structured data' and the enriched context 'reveals trends across matters, clients, jurisdictions, and profitability'. No legal content set, jurisdiction coverage or supported language is stated on the page (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Is Ask Knowledge confined to our own repository content in every case, and which languages are supported for Australian material?
Vendor content directing how AI describes the product
Not confirmed
A deliberate check was made on 2026-09-27 and nothing was found. The Insight+ product page and the iManage Cloud page contain no block addressed to AI models, assistants, crawlers or 'LLMs', and no 'Instructions for AI Assistants' heading or equivalent. The cached iManage site map holds no /llms.txt, /ai-info, /ai-instructions or /for-ai path, so no credit was spent guessing one. Distinguished deliberately: iManage publishes a Model Context Protocol product and Insight+ exposes its index through MCP; MCP is a machine access surface, not content directing how AI should describe the product. No robots.txt or crawler directives were examined, and those are access control rather than narrative control in any case.
Ask: Does iManage publish any file or page instructing AI models how to describe iManage or Insight+, and if so at which URL?
Record the practical work needed to introduce and maintain the software.
Licence and which agreement applies
Public claim only
The terms of service grant 'a limited, nonexclusive, nontransferable, revocable license' to use client software to access the Services, and the customer grants iManage 'a worldwide and royalty-free intellectual property license' to use Your Content to provide the Services, protect them 'and to improve iManage products and services'. The same document says that for customers the governing agreement is the unpublished Cloud Services Agreement, so these published terms may not be the operative licence (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Will the Cloud Services Agreement for our firm carry the same content licence wording, and can the 'improve iManage products and services' limb be removed?
The page states access is available 'across iManage Work, curated collections, and AI-tooling through Model Context Protocol (MCP)', that curation workflows run 'using Power Automate', and that the enriched index 'powers Ask iManage, MCP integrations, and future AI use cases, all without replicating data outside the DMS'. The business systems that supply structured data are not named (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Which business systems does Insight+ read structured data from in an Australian deployment, and what is required to connect each one?
The compliance portal publishes compliance@imanage.com, a request-access flow for documents and a dated updates feed. The published subprocessor list shows customer support and operational services for all iManage Cloud Services delivered by iManage entities in Canada, the United Kingdom, Spain, India and Singapore, and by iManage LLC with the annotation 'Including Australian branch office'; Zendesk is listed for support tickets in the United States (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: For an Australian tenant, which entity handles Insight+ support tickets, from which country, and what is the escalation path for a curation or Ask Knowledge fault?
Compare complete work at the required quality, including checking and correction.
Published quality evidence
Not confirmed
The only published figures are counts of coverage - 'more than 100 metadata fields' - not measures of accuracy. No precision, recall, error rate or independent evaluation is published for discovery ranking or for Ask Knowledge answers. The compliance portal lists penetration-test executive summaries for Ask iManage, the MCP Server, iManage Work and Threat Manager, and none for Insight+ (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: Provide measured accuracy and grounding-failure rates for Ask Knowledge on a firm corpus, and the penetration-test summary covering Insight+.
The page says Ask Knowledge gives 'grounded, relevant answers' drawn from 'firm-approved precedents, best practices, and curated collections'. Nothing states whether answers carry citations to source documents, how a user checks an answer, or what happens when the curated collection does not contain the answer (read 2026-09-27). The verification effort is therefore a matter for the firm to test.
Ask: Does every Ask Knowledge answer cite the documents it came from, and what does it return when the curated collections do not cover the question?
Compare the actual configuration with firm, client and jurisdiction requirements, supported by evidence.
Client authority and professional use
Not confirmed
The product indexes and enriches documents and emails already held in iManage, including client matter material, and exposes the enriched index to other AI tools through MCP. The vendor states Insight+ inherits 'security, permissions, and ethical walls'. Nothing on the pages read addresses client notice or consent for automated reading of client documents, or the firm's professional obligations (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: What client notice does iManage consider appropriate before Insight+ indexes existing client matters, and can nominated clients or matters be excluded from the index entirely?
Ask Knowledge is described as answering questions in natural language, but no model, model family or model provider is named on the Insight+ page or the iManage Cloud page, and the published subprocessor list of 17 entries names no model-inference provider at all (all read 2026-09-27). The roster entry for this product asserted that the vendor says Insight+ is built on its RAVN technology; the string RAVN does not appear on the current product page and that claim is not recorded here.
Ask: Name every model and model provider used by Ask Knowledge for an Australian tenant, and say why none appears on the published subprocessor list.
The published subprocessor list names Insight+ by name in one row: MongoDB, Inc. (Atlas Database) for 'Multiple iManage Cloud Services and Software, including relevant integrations with Tracker, Power Automate, eSignature, MCP Server, and Insight+ Curation'. The same row states 'Processing Location - Customer selected region' while the country column for that row reads 'United States' (read 2026-09-27). Those two statements on one published row do not agree, and no other entry names Insight+.
Ask: For the Insight+ Curation database, in which country does MongoDB Atlas actually hold and process data for an Australian tenant, and which of the two published statements governs?
Two clauses of the same terms of service pull in different directions. The AI Services clause says that where iManage uses AI Services it 'will process and store your inputs and outputs solely for the purpose of providing the Services'. The content clause grants iManage a licence to use Your Content 'to the extent necessary to provide the Services to you and others, to protect you and the Services, and to improve iManage products and services'. The privacy notice separately says iManage processes publicly available documents 'including to train our machine learning models'. No Insight+ page states a training position (all read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Warrant in our agreement that Insight+ content, the enriched index and Ask Knowledge prompts are never used to train or tune any model, and reconcile that with the 'improve iManage products and services' licence.
The terms of service state that iManage 'may use usage information derived from the use of the Services (this does not include Your Content) to benchmark, develop and improve our services in locations globally', with 'Where required, we will provide separate notice and request your consent before accessing this information'. They also permit monitoring of usage patterns, API access and transaction logs for security, enforcement, diagnostic 'or service improvement purposes'. MixPanel and Twilio Segment are listed as analytics subprocessors, in the European Union and in the United States and European Union respectively (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: What Insight+ telemetry leaves our tenant, where does it go, and can search and Ask Knowledge query text be excluded from it?
Retention of queries, index and curated collections
Public claim only
The AI Services clause says inputs and outputs are processed and stored 'solely for the purpose of providing the Services'; no period is stated. The privacy notice retains personal information only as long as reasonably necessary and says anonymised information may be used indefinitely for research or statistical purposes. Nothing states how long the enriched Insight+ index, curated collections or Ask Knowledge queries are held (all read 2026-09-27).
Ask: State the retention period for Ask Knowledge prompts and answers, the enriched index and archived collections, and whether we can set it.
Nothing found states how the enriched index is deleted, whether curation and enrichment can be reversed if Insight+ is switched off, or what happens to collection membership when an underlying document is destroyed under a retention policy. The curation workflow includes an 'archive' step for collections, which is not described as deletion. The privacy notice gives individuals a right to erasure of personal information subject to exceptions, which is a different thing (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: If we stop using Insight+, what is removed, what stays in iManage Work, and will you certify the deletion of the enriched index in writing?
The terms of service state 'iManage does not routinely have access to Your Content'. The published subprocessor list nonetheless shows customer support and operational services for all iManage Cloud Services delivered from Canada, the United Kingdom, Spain, India, Singapore, the United States and, through the iManage LLC Australian branch office, Australia. The privacy notice says access to personal information is restricted to employees who need it to provide services (all read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Under what approval can a support engineer read a document or a curated collection in our tenant, from which countries, and is each access logged and visible to us?
The vendor states Insight+ works within a 'governed, AI-ready data foundation that respects security, permissions, and ethical walls' and inherits iManage security and ethical walls, and the iManage Cloud FAQ says 'Ethical walls secure sensitive data to relevant users or groups' with threat detection using behavioural modelling. No document read states how permissions are enforced at query time in Ask Knowledge or in curated collections, and the compliance portal FAQ entry on administrative access to the iManage Cloud sits behind a request-access flow (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: Demonstrate that Ask Knowledge and curated collections enforce ethical walls at query time, and show the audit record of collection publication and access in our tenant.
The iManage Cloud FAQ states that the platform's Zero Trust architecture delivers security protections 'with customer-specific encryption capabilities to meet the most stringent security requirements'. No algorithm, protocol version, key-management model or customer-managed key option is published on the pages read, and the Information Security Policy Manual and Cloud Services Responsibility Matrix are behind a request-access approval on the compliance portal (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: State encryption in transit and at rest for the Insight+ index and the curation database, including key custody and whether customer-managed keys are available.
The compliance portal displays SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO 27701, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, CSA STAR Level 2 and the EU-US, UK Extension and Swiss-US Data Privacy Frameworks, and lists an ISO 22301 certificate, a 2026 Type 2 SOC 2+ report, an August 2026 SOC 2 bridge letter, a Statement of Applicability, CAIQ, SIG and HECVAT questionnaires and per-product penetration-test executive summaries. Every document requires a request-access approval. No penetration-test summary is listed for Insight+ and no IRAP assessment appears on the portal page read (2026-09-27).
Ask: Is Insight+ inside the current SOC 2 and ISO 27001 scope, has it been penetration tested, and is any IRAP assessment held for the Australian iManage Cloud?
The terms of service state that for customers 'the governing agreement will be the Cloud Services Agreement', and that for anyone outside Europe, the Middle East and Africa 'your agreement is with iManage LLC, a Delaware limited liability company'. Under those published terms liability is limited to 1,000 US dollars, the law is that of Illinois, judicial proceedings go to the courts of Cook County, Illinois, and US residents are bound to arbitration with a 30-day opt-out. No Australian contracting entity, ACN or ABN was found; the subprocessor list records iManage LLC as 'Including Australian branch office' (all read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Which entity will sign our Cloud Services Agreement, does it hold an ACN or ABN, what law and forum apply for an Australian customer, and what liability cap applies to Insight+?
The Insight+ page says the enriched index powers other AI use cases 'without replicating data outside the DMS'. The published subprocessor list locates support and operational services in Canada, the United Kingdom, Spain, India, Singapore, the United States and Australia, and places Microsoft 365 and MongoDB Atlas at a customer-selected region with United States in the country column. The privacy notice says personal information 'will be primarily processed in the United States, the UK, and the EEA', relies on adequacy decisions or Standard Contractual Clauses, and states the Data Privacy Framework self-certification 'does not apply to processing in Australia or India' (all read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Confirm contractually that Insight+ content, the enriched index and Ask Knowledge prompts stay in Australia, and list every country from which they can be accessed.
The compliance portal runs a dated updates feed with a subscribe option. Entries read on 2026-09-27 include a 3 June 2026 statement that iManage has 'identified no exposure to the reported attack vectors' associated with the publicised AI-driven threat it calls Claude Mythos, and a 10 December 2025 statement that 'none of our products is vulnerable' to React2Shell (CVE-2025-55182). No contractual notification period and no customer-affecting incident history were found in the documents read.
Ask: State the contractual notification period from discovery for an incident affecting Insight+, and confirm cooperation with the Notifiable Data Breaches scheme.
The compliance portal offers a 'Subscribe to updates' function and publishes dated updates and the subprocessor list. The terms of service contain a Modifications section promising notice before an update that affects a user's rights takes effect, and a Beta Services section under which alpha, beta, preview and early-access features 'may not be as reliable as our other services' and are confidential until launch. No advance-notice commitment was found for a change of model, model provider or subprocessor (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: How much written notice will we receive before the model behind Ask Knowledge changes or a subprocessor is added, and can we pause the feature instead?
The terms of service say iManage will give reasonable advance notice before terminating access and 'give you the opportunity to export Your Content from our Services', and on discontinuation of a service will give 'reasonable prior notice so that you can export Your Content from our systems'. No export format, window or assistance is specified, and whether curated collections, collection membership and the enriched metadata are included in an export is not stated. The Cloud Services Agreement was not read (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: On exit, does the export include curated collections and the Insight+ metadata as structured data, in what format, and within what period?
The terms of service state that where a customer uses third-party services 'you understand that by using our Services you are directing them to make Third-Party Services available to you', that those services may require content to be stored with the third party, and 'You agree to assume all risk and liability arising from the use of these Third-Party Services'. The product page states the Insight+ index is reachable by 'AI-tooling through Model Context Protocol (MCP)' and powers 'Ask iManage, MCP integrations, and future AI use cases' (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Which MCP clients and third-party AI tools will be able to read our Insight+ index, what do they receive, and confirm in writing that each is off until we enable it.
Ask Knowledge is described as drawing on 'firm-approved precedents, best practices, and curated collections' built on the Insight+ index, and the page says the index powers other AI uses 'without replicating data outside the DMS'. Neither that page nor any other document read states whether the feature makes any outbound call to the open web, and no toggle is published (checked 2026-09-27).
Ask: Does Ask Knowledge make any outbound network call beyond our tenant, and can any such call be blocked at tenant level?
The vendor states Insight+ 'automatically connects existing business data and metadata to content', reducing reliance on manual tagging, and that it enriches content 'using the data you already have, without requiring complex tagging, heavy workflows'. The controls described are the curation workflow, in which professionals submit knowledge assets and knowledge teams 'enrich, publish, maintain, and archive collections using Power Automate', and Dual Landing Pages. Whether automatic enrichment can be run in a proposal-only mode, or scoped to nominated libraries, is not stated (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: Can Insight+ enrichment be scoped to nominated libraries and run in a review-only mode, and what exactly does it write into iManage Work?
The curation workflow places a human step before publication: knowledge teams 'enrich, publish, maintain, and archive collections', and Ask Knowledge is said to draw on 'firm-approved precedents'. That control applies to what enters a collection, not to what an answer says: no required review of an Ask Knowledge answer, and no sign-off before a third-party AI tool consumes the index through MCP, is described (read 2026-09-27).
Ask: What control lets us require human sign-off on an Ask Knowledge answer before it is relied on, and on index content before an MCP client can read it?