General-purpose · Practice management · Medium confidence

Appian Platform

Appian Corporation · Appian Cloud subscription of the Appian Platform and its named AI components (AI agents, AI Skills, Copilot, Composer, DocCenter). Formerly marketed as the AI Process Platform. On-premise and Government Cloud need separate review.

General-purpose low-code process orchestration and case-management platform with embedded AI components; in Australia, prosecution and law-firm matter management systems are built on it rather than it being sold as legal software.

Opens a private software assessment of Appian Platform for one task, with this profile’s questions to hand.

Matter managementAgentic workflowsData extraction
Published facts
DeploymentSaaS, On-premises
Hosting regionsAustralia, United States, European Union / EEA, United Kingdom, Canada, Singapore, Another named location
Australian regionYes
AssuranceSOC 1 Type II / ISAE 3402, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3 (public summary report), ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 27017:2015, ISO/IEC 27018:2019, ISO 9001:2015, PCI DSS, HITRUST (listed by the vendor; see the assurance consideration), FedRAMP Moderate and High (Agency ATO), GovRAMP Moderate, DISA Impact Levels 2, 4 and 5 (Appian Government Cloud), IRAP assessed against the Australian Government ISM up to PROTECTED, Canada Protected B, UK Cyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials Plus, Spain ENS, BSI C5 (SOC 2 C5 Type II), CSA STAR (CAIQ), Section 508 / VPAT
Training on customer contentNo
Retention summaryThe DPA sets the duration of processing as the term plus a reasonable period after it (within 30 days after the end of the provision of Services) in accordance with Appian's data retention policies then in force, and requires secure deletion of all Customer Personal Data within 30 days of the end of Services on request. That retention policy was not published on any page read. Production data is replicated across availability zones within the same region and included in nightly backups stored in a separate isolated location in the same geographical region. No retention period is published for AI prompts, agent outputs, audit trails or process logs.
IntegrationsAWS PrivateLink (inbound and outbound, premium tiers), VPN connectivity (inbound and outbound, premium tiers), log streaming (premium tiers), inbound API authentication, integration authentication, Appian RPA, records management system (at the Victorian OPP, per the vendor's customer page)
Pricing summaryNo price is published on any page read and no pricing page was opened. The Data Processing Agreement refers to an Order Form, a Cloud Subscription Agreement, a Master On Premise Agreement and a Subscription Term, so commercial terms are set per customer; the pricing unit, and whether the AI components carry a separate charge, were not established.
Australian presenceYes — AUSTRALIAN CONTRACTING ENTITY NOT ESTABLISHED. The Data Processing Agreement (read 2026-09-27) defines the processor contracting entity as 'either: (a) Appian Corporation; or (b) Appian Software International LLC, as more particularly described in the Agreement with the Customer', and names no Australian entity; the Cloud Subscription Agreement that would identify the contracting party for an Australian order was not read. An Australian Appian entity does exist and is published by Appian: the subprocessor notice (last updated 28 October 2025) lists 'Appian Software Australia Pty Ltd.' with processing location Australia among eleven Appian entity sub-processors that provide maintenance and support. No ACN or ABN appears in anything Appian publishes on the pages read. An Australian Business Register search on 2026-09-27 returned an active ABN 93 151 539 454 for 'Appian Software Australia Pty Limited', location 4223 QLD; the individual ABR record for that ABN was not opened, so the ACN was not read and the company's role in an Australian sale is not published. Australia is one of the published Appian Cloud data-centre locations, and Appian states Appian Cloud personnel are located in Australia among ten countries. Third-party context, not a vendor claim: the CAIDE/LIV 'AI in the Law' snapshot records the NSW Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions running MATTERS on Appian (live July 2023) and, in its third edition, an announcement that an Australian law firm, Wotton Kearney, built OSCAR on the Appian Platform.

Product and intended use

Define the configuration, people, information and tasks being assessed.

Product and plan covered

Public claim only

This profile covers the Appian Platform as described on the vendor's platform overview and artificial-intelligence pages (read 2026-09-27), which the vendor has also marketed as the AI Process Platform. The platform page names five parts: process orchestration, unified data (data fabric), AI, modernisation and process intelligence. The AI page names Agent Studio, AI Skills, AI Copilot, Composer and DocCenter. Appian Government Cloud is a separate offering described on the compliance page, and the DPA contemplates both a Cloud Subscription Agreement and a Master On Premise Agreement.

Ask: For our order form, which Appian release and which named AI components (Agent Studio, AI Skills, AI Copilot, Composer, DocCenter) are included, and which are separately licensed or gated behind a support tier?

Deployment model and hosting location

Public claim only

The DPA defines the Agreement as a Cloud Subscription Agreement and/or a Master On Premise Agreement, so both hosted and on-premise licensing exist. The Appian Cloud availability page (read 2026-09-27) lists the data-centre locations, which include AUSTRALIA alongside five United States locations, Brazil, Canada, France, Bahrain, Germany, India, Ireland, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Sweden and the United Kingdom, and states that all production data is replicated across availability zones within the same region and that backups are stored in a separate isolated location within the same geographical region. The subprocessor notice states that a sub-processor's 'processing location will depend on which data center you have selected on your order form'.

Ask: Will our order form name the Australian data centre for the production site, backups and disaster recovery, and is any component of the service (including AI processing, monitoring or support tooling) hosted outside Australia?

AI features in scope

Public claim only

The artificial-intelligence page (read 2026-09-27) describes four AI groups: AI agents that 'do work like classifying, extracting, summarizing, and automating', conversational AI, AI-assisted development, and 'Private AI'. Its FAQ names Agent Studio ('building, managing, and governing AI agents'), AI Skills, AI Copilot ('finds information buried in documents, answers questions directly within applications'), Composer (application generation from natural-language prompts) and DocCenter (intelligent document processing with generative AI). The platform page names AI agents, RPA and IDP as automation components.

Ask: Which of these AI features would be enabled in our tenant by default, and can each be turned off centrally for nominated applications or user groups?

Jurisdiction and legal content

Public claim only

The platform carries no legal content library and is not marketed as legal software; nothing on the pages read claims primary-law coverage for any jurisdiction. The Australian-specific published item is on the compliance page: Appian states that its IRAP assessment means it 'has been assessed against the requirements laid out by the Australian Government Information Security Manual (ISM) up to the Protected level', produced by the Australian Cyber Security Centre. The compliance page also lists UK G-Cloud, Canada Protected B, Spain's ENS and Germany's C5.

Ask: Provide the IRAP assessment report and its date, the assessed scope (which Appian Cloud regions, which platform components, and whether the AI components are in scope), and the name of the assessor.

Vendor content directing how AI describes the product

Not confirmed

Checked on 2026-09-27 and nothing found. A site map of 40 appian.com URLs in the earlier pass surfaced no /llms.txt, /ai-info or /for-ai page, and a search of all seven Appian pages now held on disk (platform overview, artificial intelligence, the Victorian OPP customer page, the Data Processing Agreement, the security, compliance and availability pages) for an 'Instructions for AI Assistants' heading or equivalent block addressed to AI models, assistants or crawlers returned no match.

Ask: Does Appian publish any page or embedded block that instructs AI models, assistants or crawlers how to describe Appian, and if so where?

Adoption and implementation

Record the practical work needed to introduce and maintain the software.

Licence, pricing unit and whether AI is separately charged

Public claim only

The DPA refers to an Order Form, a Cloud Subscription Agreement, a Master On Premise Agreement and a Subscription Term, but no price, unit or tier is published on any page read, and no pricing page was opened. The platform page's phrase 'One unified platform. No bolt-ons.' is positioning and does not establish that the AI components carry no separate charge. The security page allocates several controls, including bring-your-own-key, database encryption, AWS PrivateLink and log streaming, to premium Appian Protect tiers rather than to the base subscription.

Ask: Provide an itemised quote showing the subscription unit, the Appian Protect tier required for the security controls we need, and whether AI agents, AI Skills, Copilot, Composer and DocCenter are metered or separately licensed.

Integration with existing systems

Public claim only

The platform page describes unified data (data fabric) as giving 'employees and AI agents a secure way to access and update information across your ecosystem-without data migration'. The security page lists secure connection channels with customer data sources, integration authentication, inbound API authentication, and, in premium tiers, AWS PrivateLink and VPN connectivity. The Victorian OPP customer page states that the Amicus system integrates with other OPP tools and platforms, including the records management system.

Ask: For a legal deployment, which of our systems (document management, court filing, finance) would be reached through data fabric connections, and does data fabric copy content into Appian or read it in place?

Support tiers and security contact

Public claim only

The security page states that 'Appian Protect offers one basic tier for all customers and three premium support tiers for advanced security', and that high-availability features (1 minute RPO, 4 minute RTO, replication across three availability zones) are available with Advanced Support and Enterprise Support. Vulnerability reports are taken through HackerOne and incidents through a portal at forum.appianportalsgov.com. No Australian-hours service level was published on the pages read.

Ask: Which Appian Protect and support tier is in our quote, what are the Australian-hours response commitments for a severity-one incident, and which security controls we require are tier-gated?

Quality and human effort

Compare complete work at the required quality, including checking and correction.

Published evidence of output quality

Public claim only

The outcome figures Appian publishes are vendor-commissioned or customer-reported: the platform page cites an IDC study for '8 month payback', '$12.6M annually in reclaimed staff time' and '25% improvement in enterprise innovation'; the AI page reports a healthcare customer whose agents 'extract diagnosis details from unstructured documents with 95% accuracy' and an insurer that cut medical review time by 75% and improved accuracy to 98%. No evaluation method, dataset or independent test is published for any of these figures, and none concerns legal work.

Ask: Provide the measurement method behind the published accuracy figures, and any error-rate testing of AI Skills or DocCenter extraction on Australian legal or court documents.

What the Australian legal deployments actually use

Not confirmed

The sources disagree about whether the Australian prosecution deployments use AI. Appian's own customer page for the Victorian OPP (read 2026-09-27) mentions no AI: it says the Amicus matter management system 'leverages Appian's data fabric and process automation technology to accelerate prosecutions' and unifies legacy systems, and reports an OPP executive's statement that 20 to 30 per cent of workforce time had been spent on manual administrative tasks. The CAIDE/LIV 'AI in the Law' snapshot, a university report and not a vendor statement, records OPP (Vic) using 'Amicus on Appian AI-Powered Process System using OpenAI/ChatGPT' with AmicusX on Amazon Bedrock in trials for summarising police briefs, and ODPP (NSW) using MATTERS on the same platform. Nothing Appian publishes confirms either model provider.

Ask: For a matter management application built on Appian, which functions would invoke a generative model at all, and can the platform be deployed with no generative AI component enabled?

Data, controls and requirements

Compare the actual configuration with firm, client and jurisdiction requirements, supported by evidence.

Client authority and responsibility for what is put in

Public claim only

The DPA places authority squarely on the customer: 'Customer acknowledges that it has exclusive control and responsibility for determining the means and purposes and what Customer Personal Data Customer submits to Appian and warrants it has all authority, grounds, rights and consents and permissions for submission and transfer of Customer Personal Data and Processing by Appian'. The customer is the controller and Appian the processor. The DPA says nothing about legal professional privilege, court-ordered material or criminal-brief content.

Ask: For privileged and brief-of-evidence material placed in an Appian application, what notice or consent does Appian expect us to hold, and does Appian accept any restriction on processing privileged content?

Foundation-model providers

Not confirmed

No foundation-model provider is named in anything Appian publishes on the pages read. A search of all seven cached Appian pages for OpenAI, Anthropic, Azure, Bedrock, Gemini, Mistral and 'large language model' returned only navigation glossary links. The subprocessor notice (28 October 2025), which is the document that would name a model processor, lists only Amazon Web Services (hosting), Alert Logic (intrusion detection) and Snowflake (data warehousing for intrusion detection). The AI page instead describes 'Private AI' and states data stays 'within your organization's compliance boundary'. Third-party context only: the CAIDE/LIV snapshot names OpenAI/ChatGPT and Amazon Bedrock in connection with the Australian prosecution deployments; that is a university report describing customers, not a vendor statement.

Ask: Name every model used by AI Skills, AI Copilot, Agent Studio and DocCenter for our tenant, the legal entity that operates each model, the region in which inference runs, and whether any model is called outside Appian Cloud.

Subprocessors

Public claim only

Appian publishes a subprocessor notice, incorporated by clause 8.3 of the DPA, last updated 28 October 2025. It lists eleven Appian entity sub-processors with processing locations: Appian Corporation (USA), Appian Canada Corporation, Appian Europe Ltd. (United Kingdom), Appian Italy, Appian Japan G.K., Appian Mexico Software SRL, Appian Software Australia Pty Ltd. (Australia), Appian Software Germany GmbH, Appian Software International, LLC (Switzerland), Appian Spain, S.L., and Appian Computer Technologies India Private Limited. Third-party sub-processors are Amazon Web Services, Alert Logic and, from 1 January 2026, Snowflake, each with 'processing location will depend on which data center you have selected on your order form'. Clause 8.4 and the notice commit to updating the list at least 30 days before engaging a new sub-processor. No AI or model provider appears on the list.

Ask: If we enable AI agents, AI Skills or DocCenter, does any sub-processor not on the 28 October 2025 notice process our content, and will a model provider be added to that notice before it is used?

Training on customer content

Public claim only

The claim is on a marketing page, not in the contract. The artificial-intelligence FAQ (read 2026-09-27) states 'we never train our models on your data, and your data is never shared outside your organization's compliance boundary' and 'Appian doesn't share data with third parties or train algorithms on your data'. The Data Processing Agreement contains no AI or training clause; its nearest provision is clause 5(a), under which Appian 'shall only carry out any Processing of Customer Personal Data on the documented instructions of Customer' unless required by law. That limit is expressed for Customer Personal Data, so it does not by its terms cover customer content that is not personal data.

Ask: Will you warrant in the Agreement that no customer content, prompt, output, embedding or log from our tenant is used to train, fine-tune or evaluate any model, including content that is not personal data?

Feedback, telemetry and model refinement

Public claim only

Two statements on the same artificial-intelligence page sit close together and are not reconciled there. The FAQ on privacy says Appian does 'never train our models on your data'. The FAQ on monitoring lists 'Model effectiveness reviews. Monitor confidence levels, exceptions, and overrides to refine AI models over time', and lists audit trails logging 'every AI recommendation and decision'. Who performs that refinement, and on what data, is not stated on any page read, and the DPA is silent on telemetry.

Ask: Does the 'model effectiveness review' and refinement described on your AI page use any data from our tenant, and can overrides, confidence scores and exception logs be kept inside our tenant only?

Retention of content, prompts and logs

Public claim only

The DPA sets the duration of processing as 'the term and a reasonable period thereafter (within 30 days after the end of the provision of Services) in accordance with the Services relating to the Processing under this Agreement and Appian's data retention policies then in force'. That retention policy is not published on any page read. The availability page states production data is replicated across availability zones in the same region and included in nightly backups held in a separate isolated location in the same geographical region. No retention period is published for AI prompts, agent outputs, audit trails or process logs.

Ask: Provide the data retention policy referred to in clause 7(b) of the DPA, and state the default and configurable retention for AI prompts, agent outputs, audit trails, process logs and backups on an Australian site.

Deletion and certified erasure

Public claim only

DPA clause 5(i) requires Appian, upon request, to 'securely delete all Customer Personal Data within 30 days after the end of the provision of the Services relating to the Processing under this Agreement, and securely delete existing copies, unless EU law or the law of the EU member state(s) to which Appian is subject require storage'. The exception is framed on EU law only and the obligation is triggered by a request rather than automatic. Nothing on the pages read addresses deletion from backups, from AI caches or by sub-processors, or written certification of deletion.

Ask: Will you confirm in writing that deletion under clause 5(i) covers backups, indexes, AI prompt and output stores and sub-processor copies, that it applies to content that is not personal data, and that a deletion certificate will be issued?

Vendor and sub-processor access to content

Public claim only

DPA clause 5(c) requires Appian to ensure persons authorised to process Customer Personal Data are bound by confidentiality, and clause 8.2 states Appian entity sub-processors 'may respond to a customer's request for technical support and/or defect correction services'. The subprocessor notice names the eleven Appian entities and their processing locations, which include India, Mexico, Japan and Australia. The security page states 'Appian Cloud personnel located in the United States, Canada, Mexico, United Kingdom, Spain, Germany, Italy, Australia, Japan, and India', each subject to a formal screening process including a required background check. No customer-visible access log or approval workflow for vendor access is described on the pages read.

Ask: Can support and defect-correction access to an Australian site be restricted to named personnel in Australia, and will you provide us with a log of every vendor access to our data?

Access control, permissions and audit

Public claim only

The security page lists single sign-on, integration authentication, inbound API authentication, encryption of sensitive data fields in interfaces, and 'row-level data fabric security with user access preview' as included for all users, with trusted IP allow lists in premium tiers. The AI FAQ states 'Appian AI applies user permissions to make sure AI agents only access and share data with the right people in the right context' and that permissions set on a record are inherited by connected systems down to row level. Multi-factor authentication and SCIM provisioning are not mentioned on the pages read.

Ask: Confirm whether enforced multi-factor authentication and SCIM provisioning are available on our tier, and demonstrate that an AI agent cannot return content the requesting user could not open directly.

Encryption and key management

Not confirmed

The two vendor pages do not agree on key management. The security page lists 'Transport Layer Security (TLS) for end-user connections', 'Disk encryption to secure data at rest' and encrypted backups as included for all users, and places 'Bring your own key (BYOK)' and 'Database encryption' among 'Advanced security features aligned to premium tiers'. The artificial-intelligence FAQ states without qualification that 'all data is encrypted via your private key'. Neither page names algorithms or TLS versions. Appian Cloud's web tier is stated to be rated A+ by Qualys SSL Labs.

Ask: Which Appian Protect tier is required for bring-your-own-key and database encryption, and does the statement on the AI page that all data is encrypted with the customer's private key apply to a base subscription?

Independent security assurance

Public claim only

DPA clause 7.1 states the security program 'at a minimum adheres to applicable information security practices as identified in International Organization for Standardization 27001 (ISO/IEC 27001)'; clause 7.2 commits Appian to maintaining an annual SOC report and not materially reducing the overall level of security set out in its SOC 2 report; clause 7.3 provides current audit reports and certificates on request under confidentiality and supports one customer security review a year on 30 days' notice, while recording that for Amazon Web Services Appian 'cannot commit to procure AWS's compliance with any specific audit requirement from Customer'. The compliance page (read 2026-09-27) lists SOC 1 Type II/ISAE 3402, SOC 2 Type II, a publicly available SOC 3, PCI DSS, FedRAMP Moderate and High, DISA IL2/IL4/IL5, GovRAMP Moderate, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, 27017:2015 and 27018:2019, ISO 9001:2015, Canada Protected B, UK Cyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials Plus, Spain's ENS, C5 and an IRAP assessment up to PROTECTED. HITRUST appears in the security page's certification list, but the compliance page's HITRUST entry describes the framework without stating that Appian holds the certification, so the HITRUST position is not established.

Ask: Provide the current SOC 2 Type II report, the ISO 27001:2022 certificate with its scope statement, the IRAP report, and a direct answer on whether Appian holds a HITRUST CSF certification and for which scope.

Contract stack, contracting entity and forum

Public claim only

The DPA was read in full (2026-09-27); the Cloud Subscription Agreement it depends on was not, so liability, service levels and export obligations were not established. The DPA states the processor contracting entity is 'either: (a) Appian Corporation; or (b) Appian Software International LLC, as more particularly described in the Agreement with the Customer', names no Australian contracting entity, and takes its governing law, dispute resolution and liability cap from the Agreement. It provides that the DPA prevails over the Agreement in the event of conflict, and that 'The Competent Supervisory Authority shall be the supervisory authority of the EU Member State where the Customer is headquartered', which does not describe an Australian customer.

Ask: Which entity will sign our subscription agreement, under which governing law and forum, and will you issue an Australian addendum covering the Privacy Act 1988 and the Australian Privacy Principles in place of the EU-framed DPA?

Cross-border transfers and APP 8

Public claim only

The DPA's transfer machinery is European: 'Applicable Data Protection Laws' is defined to include the EU GDPR, the UK GDPR and Swiss data protection laws and does not mention the Australian Privacy Act; clause 3.1 relies on the EU-US, UK Extension and Swiss-US Data Privacy Frameworks, and clause 3.2 applies the EU standard contractual clauses (Module Two) and the UK Addendum to restricted transfers. Clause 8.1 authorises transfers of Customer Personal Data 'to Appian branches, Affiliates and selected third parties ... within and outside the EEA or Switzerland'. Australia is an available data-centre location and sub-processor processing location follows the data centre chosen on the order form, but no APP 8 mechanism, no Australian transfer clause and no statement of where model inference runs appear on any page read.

Ask: For an Australian site, list every country in which our content may be stored, processed, backed up, supported or used for inference, and state the APP 8 mechanism you rely on for each disclosure.

Incident notification and history

Public claim only

DPA clause 7.4 requires Appian to notify the customer 'without undue delay (unless compelled by law otherwise), and, where feasible, not later than 72 hours after becoming aware' of a security incident affecting Customer Personal Data processed by Appian or its sub-processors, and excludes incidents 'attributable to Customer or Customer's Users'. Clause 5(g) adds notification in writing without undue delay and records that notification is not an acknowledgement of fault. The security page states the Security Incident Response Team investigates submissions and 'Appian notifies affected customers'. No incident history and no Notifiable Data Breaches scheme commitment appear on the pages read.

Ask: Will you commit contractually to supporting our Notifiable Data Breaches assessment within a fixed period, and list any material security incidents affecting Appian Cloud in the last 24 months, including at sub-processors?

Change notice for processors, models and controls

Public claim only

The DPA and the subprocessor notice commit to updating the published sub-processor list at least 30 days before Appian engages a new sub-processor, and clause 3.1 commits to at least 30 days' notice before Appian withdraws from its Data Privacy Framework self-certification. Clause 7.2 permits Appian to 'replace or upgrade controls to maintain or increase the security level' provided the overall level in its SOC 2 report is not materially reduced. The notice records a planned change of its own: from 1 January 2026 customer sites transition from Alert Logic to Snowflake, running concurrently for about six months. No notice commitment for a change of model, model version or AI feature behaviour was found, and the DPA gives no objection right to a new sub-processor beyond the 30-day posting.

Ask: What notice will we receive before a model, model version or AI feature behaviour changes, and do we have a right to object to, or suspend use of, a newly listed sub-processor?

Export and exit

Not confirmed

No export or return-of-data obligation was found. The DPA deals with deletion (clause 5(i), within 30 days of the end of Services on request) but not with export, format or assistance on exit; those terms would sit in the Cloud Subscription Agreement or Master On Premise Agreement, neither of which was read in this pass. The terms of use linked in the site footer at https://appian.com/legal/terms-of-use was also not read.

Ask: What does the Cloud Subscription Agreement require on termination: in what formats are applications, matter records, documents and audit trails returned, over what period, and at what cost?

Connectors and what AI agents can reach

Not confirmed

The platform's design point is reaching other systems: the platform page describes data fabric as giving 'employees and AI agents a secure way to access and update information across your ecosystem-without data migration', and the AI FAQ says agents apply user permissions and that record permissions are inherited by connected systems. The security page lists integration authentication, inbound API authentication and, in premium tiers, AWS PrivateLink and VPN connectivity. No list of available AI connectors, and no statement of whether an agent can call an external service the firm has not approved, appears on the pages read.

Ask: List every connector an AI agent could invoke in our tenant, and show the administrative control that prevents an agent calling a system or external endpoint we have not approved.

Open-web retrieval

Not confirmed

Nothing on the pages read states whether any AI component retrieves from the open web. The artificial-intelligence FAQ addresses the opposite direction only, saying data stays 'within your organization's compliance boundary' and that AI 'runs in a secure, isolated environment, ensuring sensitive data never leaks to public models'. No search, browsing or retrieval toggle is documented on any page read.

Ask: Can AI Copilot or an AI agent retrieve content from the open internet, and if so can outbound retrieval be disabled for our tenant and logged when used?

Agent actions and confirmation

Not confirmed

The same artificial-intelligence page describes both autonomous action and pre-action review. Its first FAQ says AI in Appian includes 'AI agents that autonomously make decisions and take action', and a later answer says 'Appian AI agents can automate complex work based on context, data, and prior outcomes-without human input. If a problem arises, the agent can adapt in real time using complex reasoning to adjust its course.' The governance answer states 'Human-in-the-loop oversight. Users can review, validate, or override AI recommendations before action is taken', alongside business rules, thresholds and escalation paths. Which behaviour is the default, and which is configurable, is not stated.

Ask: In Agent Studio, what is the default for an agent that writes to a record or sends external correspondence: does it execute or queue for confirmation, and can a mandatory confirmation step be enforced centrally and audited?

Human review before an output is used

Public claim only

The governance controls listed on the artificial-intelligence page are human-in-the-loop oversight, permissions management, business rules and policies constraining outputs, traceability 'showing when and why decisions were made, what data was used', and audit trails in which 'every AI-driven action is logged'. The platform page states Appian 'captures every human, AI, and system action for a centralized view'. These are marketing statements; the DPA contains no human-oversight clause, and nothing published says a reviewer step can be made mandatory or that review is recorded against a named person.

Ask: Which product setting forces a named human reviewer before an AI output leaves the system, and can we export an audit trail showing who reviewed which output and when?

Sources

Official pages reviewed for this profile, last reviewed 2026-09-27.

Related tasks

Related tools

Add this product to your toolset for a particular task, or use it with a practice-area checklist. Add to your toolset Practice areas Best AI practice management tools Australia