Legal-specific · Document management and knowledge · Medium confidence

Thomson Reuters HighQ (with HighQ AI Hub)

Thomson Reuters · Australian HighQ subscription including the HighQ AI Hub and the native AI engine. Whether either is included or licensed separately is not established. Connected third-party AI engines, CoCounsel and Legal Tracker need separate review.

Cloud platform for legal document and matter management, collaboration and client portals, with an AI Hub that sends documents to a customer-chosen AI engine and a native engine that classifies documents and extracts fields.

Opens a private software assessment of Thomson Reuters HighQ (with HighQ AI Hub) for one task, with this profile’s questions to hand.

Matter managementDocument automationKnowledge searchIntake and triageDocument classification
Published facts
DeploymentSaaS
Hosting regionsWorldwide or dynamically routed
Australian regionUnknown
AssuranceIRAP assessed against PROTECTED classification level controls (HighQ; product page dates the assessment 18 May 2026; the linked Thomson Reuters Australia post says it was completed in May 2026 against the September 2025 Information Security Manual), ISO/IEC 42001 certificate (Thomson Reuters corporate certificate listed on the trust centre), ISO/IEC 27001 certificate (Thomson Reuters corporate certificate listed on the trust centre), ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and ISO 20000-1 certificates (Thomson Reuters corporate certificates listed on the trust centre), Product-level SOC reports and bridge letters offered through the HighQ security profile on the trust centre (account required; not opened in this pass)
Training on customer contentUnknown
Retention summaryNo retention period for HighQ customer content, AI Hub extractions or native-engine output was found. The global Thomson Reuters privacy statement (read 2026-09-27) says personal information is retained 'as required by our enterprise records retention schedule, which varies by Service, business function, country, record classes, and record types', and that anonymised information may be used indefinitely. That statement addresses personal information Thomson Reuters holds, not customer matter content held in a HighQ site.
IntegrationsThird-party AI engines connected through the HighQ AI Hub (none named on the pages read), HighQ iSheets and platform automation (used to build visualisations, workflows and risk evaluations from returned data)
Pricing summaryNo price is published on the Australian HighQ or AI Hub pages; both route the reader to a demo request or a Thomson Reuters representative. Whether the AI Hub or the native AI engine is included in a HighQ subscription, or licensed separately, is not stated on either page.
Australian presenceYes — Thomson Reuters sells HighQ in Australia through thomsonreuters.com.au with Australian sales, support and training contacts, and the Australian product page states HighQ has been IRAP assessed against PROTECTED classification level controls. The Australian contracting entity and its ACN or ABN were NOT established: the Australian terms-of-use page is a website terms page that names only 'Thomson Reuters' and no Australian company, and the global privacy statement names no Australian entity. No Australian hosting region is named for HighQ on any page read; the product FAQ says only that the platform is moving to Microsoft Azure 'in data centers around the world' and that the customer decides where data is stored.

Product and intended use

Define the configuration, people, information and tasks being assessed.

Product and plan covered

Public claim only

The Australian pages describe HighQ as a platform for document and matter management, collaboration, workflow automation and analytics, with modules for corporate teams (contract lifecycle management, legal intake and triage, document automation) and for firms (client portals, matter management, knowledge management). AI appears in two named places on the AI Hub page: the AI Hub integration layer and what the vendor calls 'the native AI engine on HighQ'. Neither page states whether either is included in a subscription or charged separately (both read 2026-09-27).

Ask: For our Australian order form, is the AI Hub enabled and is the native AI engine included in the subscription, or are they separately licensed line items?

Deployment model and hosting

Public claim only

HighQ is described as a cloud platform. The product FAQ answers the hosting question with: 'We are moving the platform to Microsoft Azure cloud in data centers around the world. You decide where to store your data, and it stays there.' No region list is published, Australia is not named, and no on-premises or private-cloud option appears on the pages read (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Which Azure regions can a HighQ site be provisioned in for an Australian customer, is an Australian region among them, and does the answer cover backups, search indexes and the native AI engine?

AI features in scope

Public claim only

The AI Hub page sets out a four-step integration path: '1. HighQ syncs via the AI Hub with your third-party AI engine, sending out documents for analysis 2. Your AI engine of choice examines the document, extracting the desired data 3. The resulting data is then pulled back into the AI Hub 4. Now, using HighQ iSheets and automation, you can quickly create data visualisations, workflows, risk evaluations, and more.' Separately it states 'The AI engine on HighQ analyzes documents securely stored in the platform and extracts key data by determining document classification, language, currency, governing law, and more.' The four headline platform functions on the product page are described without reference to AI (both read 2026-09-27).

Ask: Demonstrate both paths on our data: which fields the native engine extracts, and exactly what leaves the platform when the AI Hub sends a document to an external engine.

Jurisdiction and legal content

Public claim only

HighQ is sold to Australian firms and corporate legal teams and carries no cited primary-law library; the native engine is described as determining document classification, language, currency and governing law as metadata rather than advising on law. The Australian product page states the platform has been IRAP assessed against PROTECTED classification level controls, which the linked post describes as the framework the Australian Government applies to sensitive workloads (read 2026-09-27).

Ask: Confirm in writing that neither the native engine nor the AI Hub produces legal advice or citations, and what the 'governing law' field means when the document is silent.

Vendor content directing how AI describes the product

Not confirmed

No block or page directing how AI models, assistants or crawlers should describe HighQ was found on the two Australian pages read (product page and AI Hub page, both 2026-09-27). An earlier check in this project of https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/llms.txt, https://www.thomsonreuters.com/llms.txt and /en-au/ai-info.html returned 404, and the Australian site map returned no /ai-info or /for-ai path.

Ask: Does Thomson Reuters publish any file or page instructing AI models how to describe HighQ, and if so where?

Adoption and implementation

Record the practical work needed to introduce and maintain the software.

Licence terms for the product

Not confirmed

The page linked as 'Terms of use' from the Australian site is headed 'Terms of use for this website' and grants only 'a limited licence to access and make personal use of this site'. It states 'We may amend the Terms at any time by posting the amended terms on this site.' No HighQ subscription agreement, master services agreement or product licence terms were found on the Australian site (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Provide the subscription agreement or MSA that will govern our HighQ site, including the AI Hub and native engine, and the order of precedence with any online terms.

Integration with existing systems

Public claim only

The product FAQ states 'HighQ is built to connect to your existing systems - centralise all your tools and data in HighQ to generate informative dashboards and impactful metrics.' The AI Hub is described as integrating with 'leading AI providers' and with 'your third-party AI engine', but no specific engine, vendor or API is named on either page (read 2026-09-27).

Ask: List every third-party AI engine the AI Hub supports today, and whether a customer can connect an engine we already licence rather than one you nominate.

Support and security contact

Public claim only

The Australian site publishes support, technical support, training and contact-sales pages. For security the product FAQ says: 'For HighQ's security profile, please visit Thomson Reuters Trust Center to learn more.' The trust centre says product-specific security requirements go through 'your Thomson Reuters account representative'. No service-level commitment or Australian-hours severity matrix was found (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: State the support SLA and severity response times for an Australian HighQ site, and who the named security contact is for AI Hub incidents.

Quality and human effort

Compare complete work at the required quality, including checking and correction.

Published quality evidence

Not confirmed

No accuracy measure, benchmark or error rate is published for the native engine's classification and extraction, or for the AI Hub path, on either Australian page. The AI Hub page instead carries the unsourced claim that 'The HighQ AI Hub is uniquely positioned to maximize your investment and keep you ahead of the competition' (read 2026-09-27); that is marketing and is not recorded here as evidence.

Ask: Provide measured precision and recall for each field the native engine extracts, on Australian-governed agreements, and the test set used.

Verification of AI output

Not confirmed

Neither page describes how extracted values are verified, who reviews them, or what happens when the native engine misclassifies a document. Extracted data is described as flowing into iSheets, automation, visualisations and risk evaluations, with no verification step stated (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Before extracted values feed an iSheet, workflow or risk evaluation, what review step exists, and can a field be marked unverified?

Data, controls and requirements

Compare the actual configuration with firm, client and jurisdiction requirements, supported by evidence.

Client authority and professional use

Not confirmed

The AI Hub sends client documents out of HighQ to a third-party AI engine chosen by the customer. Nothing on the pages read addresses client consent, confidentiality or professional-obligation allocation for that transfer, and no AI-specific clause was found in any Thomson Reuters document read (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: What client notice or consent does Thomson Reuters consider necessary before the AI Hub sends client documents to an external engine, and who bears that obligation under our agreement?

Foundation-model providers

Not confirmed

No model, model family or provider is named for the native AI engine on either Australian page. On the AI Hub path the model is the customer's own: 'Your AI engine of choice examines the document'. The trust centre lists an 'AI Regulatory Disclosures' profile and an AI Governance and Security Program white paper but names no model provider for HighQ (checked 2026-09-27). Statements made on the Thomson Reuters Australian CoCounsel pages about named AI partners are about CoCounsel and have not been carried across.

Ask: Name every model and model provider used by the HighQ native AI engine, the legal entity and country of each inference endpoint, and the notice we receive before a model changes.

Subprocessors

Not confirmed

No subprocessor register for HighQ was found. The trust centre publishes certificates, questionnaires, a Data Security Addendum and a Global Customer Data Processing Addendum but no subprocessor list, and product artefacts require an account. The global privacy statement describes categories only: 'Third-party service providers and partners that support our business, such as our content and other partners, vendors and subcontractors, analytics providers, advertising and marketing agencies, credit agencies' (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Provide the dated subprocessor register for HighQ and the AI Hub, with entity, country, purpose and our notice and objection rights.

Training on customer content

Not confirmed

Nothing on the pages read states whether documents in a HighQ site, or the metadata the native engine extracts from them, are used to train or improve any model. The AI Hub page and product page are silent, the website terms of use do not address it, and the global privacy statement addresses personal information rather than customer content (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Confirm in the agreement that HighQ content, native-engine extractions and AI Hub traffic are never used to train or tune any Thomson Reuters or third-party model.

Feedback and quality monitoring

Not confirmed

No in-product rating, correction or feedback mechanism for the native AI engine is described on the pages read, and no statement was found about how corrections to extracted fields are used (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: If a user corrects an extracted field, where does that correction go, and is it used to improve the engine for other customers?

Retention of documents, prompts and extracted data

Not confirmed

No retention period is published for HighQ documents, AI Hub traffic or native-engine output. The global privacy statement says personal information is retained 'as required by our enterprise records retention schedule, which varies by Service, business function, country, record classes, and record types', and that anonymised information may be used indefinitely; that document governs personal information Thomson Reuters holds, not customer matter content (read 2026-09-27).

Ask: State the default and configurable retention for documents, extracted metadata, AI Hub request and response logs, and backups, for an Australian HighQ site.

Deletion and certified erasure

Not confirmed

The global privacy statement gives individuals a right to request deletion of their personal information and publishes counts of deletion requests received. No commitment was found about deleting HighQ customer content, extracted metadata or AI Hub logs, and no certified-deletion undertaking appears on the pages read (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: On termination, what is deleted from HighQ and from any AI Hub path, within what period, and will you certify deletion in writing?

Vendor access to content

Not confirmed

The global privacy statement says Thomson Reuters restricts access to personal information to employees who need it and trains staff on confidentiality. No statement was found about which Thomson Reuters staff or contractors can read documents in a customer's HighQ site, from which countries, or under what approval (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Who at Thomson Reuters can access documents in our HighQ site, from which countries, under what ticketed approval, and can we see those access logs?

Access control and audit

Public claim only

The product page describes the platform as letting a firm 'securely access, organise, share, track, audit and maintain version control for all your legal documents and matters in one centralised platform', and describes secure collaborative workspaces for clients and third parties. No detail on single sign-on, SCIM, mandatory multi-factor authentication or the audit-log export was found on the pages read (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Confirm SSO and SCIM support, enforced MFA, and whether the audit log records AI Hub sends and native-engine runs per document.

Encryption in transit and at rest

Not confirmed

No encryption statement for HighQ was found on the pages read. The trust centre describes an information security management framework and offers a HighQ security profile and security questionnaires (SIG, CAIQ) behind an account, without publishing algorithms, key management or customer-managed key options (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: State encryption in transit and at rest for HighQ documents, AI Hub traffic and backups, the key-management model, and whether customer-managed keys are available.

Independent security assurance

Public claim only

The trust centre lists Thomson Reuters corporate certificates as downloadable PDFs: ISO/IEC 42001, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and ISO 20000-1, plus an AI Regulatory Disclosures profile; product-specific SOC reports, bridge letters, attestations and questionnaires sit behind a per-product security profile that requires an account, including one for HighQ. Separately the Australian product page states HighQ 'has been IRAP assessed on 18 May 2026 against PROTECTED classification level controls', and the linked Thomson Reuters Australia post says the assessment was completed in May 2026 against the September 2025 Information Security Manual (all read 2026-09-27). IRAP: the vendor's own page states "reporting built on metadata gathered in the platform to inform business decisions. HighQ has been IRAP assessed on 18 May 2026 against PROTECTED classification level controls, provid" (https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/highq.html, checked 2026-10-10). Unverified, not applied (2026-10-10): security claim GDPR (https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/trust-center). not the vendor's domain. Unverified, not applied (2026-10-10): security claim ISO 27001 (https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/trust-center). not the vendor's domain. Unverified, not applied (2026-10-10): security claim ISO 42001 (https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/trust-center). not the vendor's domain. Unverified, not applied (2026-10-10): security claim SOC 2 (https://public-profile.whistic.com/f97698b2-e055-4e12-9d36-675e4fa4185c). not the vendor's domain.

Ask: Provide the IRAP assessment report and the current SOC 2 report for HighQ, with scope, exceptions and whether the AI Hub and native engine are inside that scope.

Contract, entity, DPA and forum

Not confirmed

No Australian contracting entity, ACN or ABN was found: the Australian terms-of-use page is a website terms page naming only 'Thomson Reuters', and refers to filings with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities and the US Securities and Exchange Commission. The trust centre publishes a Thomson Reuters Data Security Addendum (November 2023) and a Global Customer Data Processing Addendum as PDFs; neither was opened within this pass, so nothing is recorded here about their content (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Name the Thomson Reuters entity that will contract with us for HighQ and its ACN or ABN, the governing law and forum, and whether the Global Customer DPA and Data Security Addendum attach to that agreement.

Cross-border transfers and APP 8

Not confirmed

The product FAQ puts the storage location in the customer's hands — 'You decide where to store your data, and it stays there' — while naming no regions and not naming Australia. The global privacy statement says personal information 'may be transferred outside of your home country and may be stored in and accessed from multiple countries, including the United States', and acknowledges it 'may not be able to prevent government authorities in some countries from accessing your personal information'. Where inference for the native engine runs is not stated anywhere read (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: List every country where HighQ content is stored, backed up, supported and processed for the native AI engine, and confirm in the agreement whether Australia-only storage and Australia-only inference are available.

Incident notification and history

Not confirmed

The trust centre publishes a vulnerability disclosure programme run on HackerOne. No breach-notification commitment, notification period or incident history for HighQ was found on the pages read, and the website terms of use do not address it (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: State the contractual notification period from discovery for a HighQ incident, cooperation with the Notifiable Data Breaches scheme, and any material incidents in the last 24 months.

Change notice for models, terms and processors

Not confirmed

The website terms of use state 'We may amend the Terms at any time by posting the amended terms on this site.' No change-notice commitment was found for the HighQ subscription, for the native AI engine's underlying model, or for subprocessors, and no subprocessor change feed exists on the pages read (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: What written notice will we receive before the native AI engine's model, the supported AI Hub engines, or a subprocessor changes, and can we object?

Export and exit

Not confirmed

No export format, export window or exit assistance is described for HighQ on any page read, and the website terms of use do not address customer data export. Extracted data is described as living in HighQ iSheets, with no statement about exporting it (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: What formats can we export documents, matter records, iSheet data and extracted metadata in on exit, over what period, and at what cost?

Connectors and third-party AI engines

Public claim only

The AI Hub is itself a connector: the vendor states it 'integrates with leading AI providers' and 'syncs via the AI Hub with your third-party AI engine, sending out documents for analysis'. No engine is named, no list of supported connectors is published, and nothing states who contracts with the external engine or on what terms (read 2026-09-27).

Ask: For each AI Hub connector, who holds the contract with that engine, what data is sent, and does it run under our agreement with Thomson Reuters or our own agreement with that vendor?

Open-web search

Not confirmed

Neither Australian page describes open-web retrieval or browsing by the native AI engine or by the AI Hub; both describe processing of documents stored in the platform or sent to a nominated engine. No toggle or statement about web access was found (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Does the native AI engine or any AI Hub integration retrieve anything from the open web, and can that be disabled for our site?

Autonomous actions and confirmation

Not confirmed

The described flow ends with data being written into iSheets and used by automation to build 'data visualisations, workflows, risk evaluations, and more'. Whether that automation can act without a person confirming, and what confirmation controls exist, is not described on the pages read (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: Which HighQ automations can run on AI-extracted values without a person confirming, and can we require confirmation for each?

Human review before use

Not confirmed

No human-review requirement, reviewer role or override control for AI-extracted values is described on the pages read. The pages describe classification and extraction happening automatically on documents stored in the platform, without stating a review step (checked 2026-09-27).

Ask: What product control forces a named person to accept or reject an extracted field before it is used in a workflow or reported to a client?

Sources

Official pages reviewed for this profile, last reviewed 2026-10-10.

Related tasks

Related tools

Add this product to your toolset for a particular task, or use it with a practice-area checklist. Add to your toolset Practice areas Best AI document management and knowledge tools Australia