---
title: "Practical Law Australia (Thomson Reuters)"
url: "https://ailawframework.com/software/practical-law-au"
type: "software_profile"
site: "AI Law Framework"
id: "practical-law-au"
vendor: "Thomson Reuters"
category: "Legal-specific"
segment: "Legal research"
confidence: "low"
last_reviewed: "2026-09-27"
---

# Practical Law Australia (Thomson Reuters)

> Subscription legal know-how and practical guidance for Australian practitioners, written and maintained in-house, with two named AI features layered over the editorial content set.

Canonical page: https://ailawframework.com/software/practical-law-au  
Last reviewed: 2026-09-27

Site index for agents: https://ailawframework.com/llms.txt

Plan covered: Practical Law Australia subscription including the named AI features Deep Research and Search and Summarise, and the In-house Centre collection. Practical Law Global, Westlaw, HighQ and CoCounsel are separate products with separate terms.

## Capabilities

- Legal research
- Knowledge search
- Document summarisation
- Clause libraries and playbooks
- Agentic workflows
- Advice and memoranda drafting
- Legislative comparison

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Deployment | SaaS |
| Hosting regions | Unknown |
| Australian region | Unknown |
| Training on customer content | Unknown |
| Integrations | Westlaw (linked research from within Practical Law resources), HighQ (access to Practical Law documents), CoCounsel (search and summarise of Practical Law resources), unified Practical Law and Westlaw search with a connected CoCounsel experience, listed as coming soon |
| Legal content coverage | Over 10,000 practical resources in eight resource types for Australian practice: practice notes; standard documents and clauses described as annotated templates with embedded drafting notes, negotiating guides, opposing positions and clause-by-clause guidance; checklists and flowcharts; legal updates; toolkits; current awareness emails; presentation materials; and glossary terms. The vendor states an Australian team creates and maintains the content, monitoring over 500 sources daily, with more than 25 senior lawyer writers in Australia backed by more than 700 in-house lawyer writers worldwide, and that resources are updated within 48 hours of a material change in the law. Expanded Australian guidance is named for Intellectual Property and Technology and for Data Privacy and Cybersecurity. Cross-jurisdictional Q&A comparison guides and Practical Law Global are separate content sets. |
| Pricing | No price, seat model or plan table is published on the Australian product or features pages, which route to a demo request or a representative. Whether Deep Research and Search and Summarise are included in a Practical Law Australia subscription or licensed separately is not published. |
| Australian presence | Yes. CONTRACTING ENTITY NOT ESTABLISHED. No Australian contracting entity, ACN or ABN is published on any page read. The Australian transparency statement linked in the site footer names two Australian entities — Thomson Reuters (Australia) Pty. Limited and Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Ltd. — and states both are indirect wholly owned subsidiaries of Thomson Reuters Corporation, an Ontario corporation listed on the Toronto and New York stock exchanges; that statement is for the financial year ending 31 December 2021 and does not say which entity contracts for Practical Law Australia, and carries no ACN or ABN. The Australian privacy URL (thomsonreuters.com.au/en/privacy.html) redirects to the global Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement, which names no Australian entity. AUSTRALIAN PRESENCE: an Australian editorial team and an Australian site, products index and support pages are published. RESIDENCY: no hosting region or Australian data residency statement is published for Practical Law. The vendor's Australian statement that 'all customer prompts, content, and output are currently stored and processed in Australia' answers a question about CoCounsel Core and is not carried across to this product. |
| Website | https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html |

## What the research found

| Topic | Status | Finding | Open question | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Product and plan covered | Public claim only | Practical Law Australia is a subscription know-how and guidance service with five features named on the Australian features page, read 2026-09-27: Deep Research powered by agentic AI; Search and summarise with Generative AI; advanced efficiency tools (knowledge maps and cross-jurisdictional Q&A guides, neither described as AI); global content and local expertise; and integrations with other Thomson Reuters products. A curated In-house Centre collection is offered for corporate counsel. No plan tiers are published. | Which plan does our quote cover, are Deep Research and Search and Summarise included in it or licensed separately, and is the In-house Centre a separate entitlement? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html) |
| Deployment model | Public claim only | The service is vendor-hosted and delivered through a browser, with Practical Law content also reachable inside HighQ and CoCounsel. No private cloud, on-premises or customer-tenanted option is described on any page read, and no hosting location is stated. | Where is the Practical Law Australia application hosted, and is any in-country or dedicated-tenancy option available for Australian subscribers? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html) |
| What the two AI features do | Public claim only | Deep Research is described in three statements: 'Ask a complex legal question and the AI agent plans the research steps needed to answer it'; 'It retrieves the most relevant Practical Law guidance and templates, delivering a clear, cited research report you can act on immediately'; and that it is 'Fiduciary-Grade AI(TM) that is grounded in content written and maintained by 700+ expert lawyer writers globally'. Search and Summarise is described as taking a natural-language question and returning 'a synthesised summary with links to the most relevant Practical Law resources'. Both are illustrated with product screenshots on the features page. | Demonstrate both features on our own practice areas, and confirm whether Deep Research retrieves anything beyond Practical Law guidance and templates. | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html) |
| Jurisdictional coverage | Public claim only | The content set is Australian practice guidance maintained by an Australian team monitoring over 500 sources daily, with the products index stating resources are 'updated within 48hrs of a material change in the law'. The overview page names expanded Australian guidance for Intellectual Property and Technology and for Data Privacy and Cybersecurity, and lists practice areas including banking and finance, commercial, commercial real estate, company law, competition and consumer protection, corporate transactions, dispute resolution, employment, and insolvency and restructuring. Cross-jurisdictional comparison is offered through Q&A guides written by international and local experts. | Which Australian jurisdictions and practice areas are in our subscription, and does Deep Research restrict itself to Australian resources when the question is about Australian law? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html); [Thomson Reuters Australia products index — Practical Law listing and Deep Research promotion](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products.html) |
| Licence and pricing unit | Not confirmed | No price list, seat model, term or usage cap is published. Both the product page and the features page route to a demo request or to 'Contact a representative'. The only product terms document in the Australian site map is a ProView content licence agreement, which is for the vendor's e-book platform rather than Practical Law. | Provide the subscription agreement and an itemised quote: users, term, auto-renewal, any cap on Deep Research or Search and Summarise queries, and what happens to price at renewal. | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html) |
| Integration with other products | Public claim only | Stated as available today on the features page: linked Westlaw research from within relevant Practical Law resources; access to Practical Law documents within HighQ; and search and summarise of Practical Law resources within CoCounsel. Listed as coming soon: 'Unified search across Practical Law and Westlaw, with a connected AI experience through CoCounsel'. No document management system, Microsoft 365 or practice management integration is claimed for Practical Law itself. | Which of these integrations require a separate Westlaw, HighQ or CoCounsel subscription, and does using Practical Law inside CoCounsel move our questions under the CoCounsel terms? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html) |
| Published evidence about output quality | Not confirmed | No accuracy measure, evaluation, benchmark or citation-verification rate is published for Deep Research or Search and Summarise on any Australian page read. The vendor publishes a testing description for CoCounsel — a team of lawyers designing real-world legal tests, over 1,500 tests nightly and more than one million tests since launch — but that is stated for CoCounsel, not for Practical Law. The marketing phrases 'Fiduciary-Grade AI(TM)' and 'a clear, cited research report you can act on immediately' are claims about intent rather than measurements of output. | Publish or share under NDA the evaluation method and results for Practical Law Deep Research on Australian questions, including citation accuracy and the rate at which it returns no answer. | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) |
| Task fit and verification burden | Not confirmed | The output of Deep Research is a drafted, cited research report over the vendor's own guidance corpus, and the overview page describes 'citations for verification'. The AI solutions page describes 'Direct links to source documents for a seamless “trust, but verify” approach'. Verification therefore depends on a lawyer following each citation back into Practical Law; no product control enforces that, and no time-saving measurement for Australian users is published. | On a sample of our own questions, how often does a Deep Research report cite a resource that does not support the proposition, and how long does verification take? | [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html); [AI solutions for legal professionals (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/legal/ai-solutions.html) |
| Vendor content directing how AI describes the product | Not confirmed | Checked deliberately on 2026-09-27. No page or block directing how AI models, assistants or crawlers should describe the product was found on the Practical Law features or overview pages, the Australian AI trust campaign page, the Australian AI solutions page or the products index, and the Australian site map taken in the previous phase (33 URLs) surfaced no /llms.txt, /ai-info or equivalent path. The vendor does use the trademarked framing 'Fiduciary-Grade AI(TM)' across those pages; that framing is marketing and is not adopted here. | Does Thomson Reuters publish any machine-directed guidance (for example llms.txt or an AI-information page) about how its Australian products should be described? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html); [Trusted AI for lawyers (Thomson Reuters Australia campaign page)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/c/ai-lawyers-trust.html); [AI solutions for legal professionals (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/legal/ai-solutions.html) |
| Client authority and professional responsibility | Not confirmed | A Deep Research or Search and Summarise question can carry client facts, yet no published document addresses confidentiality of what a user types, client consent, or the firm's professional obligations for this product. No subscription agreement or product terms for Practical Law Australia are published on the Australian site; the footer links only website terms of use and the global privacy statement, and the global privacy statement expressly does not apply where Thomson Reuters acts as a processor for a customer. | Which signed document governs confidentiality of the questions our lawyers type into Deep Research, and does it permit client facts to be entered? | [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement); [Terms of use for this website (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/terms-of-use.html); [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html) |
| Foundation-model providers | Not confirmed | Neither the features page nor the overview page names a foundation model or provider for Deep Research or Search and Summarise. The features page says Search and Summarise uses 'large-language models trained by the knowledge and expertise of more than 700 expert lawyer writers', which describes training on the vendor's editorial content rather than naming a provider. Separately, the vendor announced on 24 August 2026 a proprietary model, Thomson, which it states was post-trained drawing on content from Westlaw, Practical Law, Checkpoint and Reuters, and whose stated first deployment is Tabular Analysis in CoCounsel Legal. Nothing published says which model serves Practical Law's own AI features. The vendor's CoCounsel pages name OpenAI and Google as third-party AI partners for CoCounsel; that is not stated for Practical Law. | Name every model and provider used by Practical Law Deep Research and Search and Summarise, the country each inference endpoint sits in, and confirm whether the Thomson model is used for either feature. | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Thomson Reuters leverages its world-class data assets to launch its own frontier model — press release, 24 August 2026](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/press-releases/2026/august/thomson-reuters-leverages-its-world-class-data-assets-to-launch-its-own-frontier-model.html); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) |
| Subprocessors | Not confirmed | No subprocessor list, register or schedule for Practical Law Australia was found. The global privacy statement says personal information is shared with affiliates within the Thomson Reuters group and with 'third-party service providers and partners that support our business, such as our content and other partners, vendors and subcontractors, analytics providers', without naming them, and applies to Thomson Reuters as controller rather than as processor for a customer. | Provide the current dated subprocessor register for Practical Law Australia including any model provider, with entity, country, purpose, data received, and our notice and objection rights. | [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement) |
| Training on customer content | Public claim only | Nothing published addresses training on Practical Law customer questions specifically. The Australian AI solutions page makes a suite-level claim under 'Security and privacy': 'Highest standards of data security and privacy, and where no third-party large language models (LLMs) can access customer data'. The vendor's CoCounsel FAQ answers the training question directly but for CoCounsel: 'No. Thomson Reuters does not use your content or prompts to train or enhance CoCounsel or any third-party LLMs', adding that its third-party AI partner is contractually prohibited from using customer data to train their models. The frontier-model press release states the standard as one where 'customer data is not used to train the model without explicit consent'. None of these is a contractual document and none names Practical Law. | Confirm in writing that questions typed into Practical Law Deep Research and Search and Summarise are not used to train or improve any model, and identify the clause that says so. | [AI solutions for legal professionals (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/legal/ai-solutions.html); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html); [Thomson Reuters leverages its world-class data assets to launch its own frontier model — press release, 24 August 2026](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/press-releases/2026/august/thomson-reuters-leverages-its-world-class-data-assets-to-launch-its-own-frontier-model.html) |
| Feedback and usage data | Not confirmed | No statement about in-product feedback, ratings or usage analytics was found for Practical Law. For CoCounsel the vendor states it 'analyses de-identified usage metrics to monitor account health, forecast capacity needs, and inform the product roadmap'; that answer is about CoCounsel. The global privacy statement permits the use of artificial intelligence, machine learning, automation and analytics to 'provide, improve, personalize, secure, or support our Services' where Thomson Reuters is controller. | Is Practical Law query text or feedback used to improve the AI features or the content set, and can that be switched off for our subscription? | [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html); [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement) |
| Retention of questions, reports and logs | Not confirmed | No retention period is published for Practical Law questions, Deep Research reports or query logs. The global privacy statement says personal information is retained 'as required by our enterprise records retention schedule, which varies by Service, business function, country, record classes, and record types', without publishing the schedule, and applies where Thomson Reuters is controller. For CoCounsel the vendor states retention is configurable at organisation level with a client manager; that is stated for CoCounsel. | State the default and configurable retention for Practical Law question text, Deep Research reports and query logs, and whether we can set it to zero. | [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) |
| Deletion and certified erasure | Not confirmed | No deletion commitment for Practical Law customer content was found. The global privacy statement gives individuals rights to access, correct, complete and delete personal information subject to exceptions and only where Thomson Reuters acts as controller, through a data subject rights portal. For CoCounsel the vendor states users can delete their own content and prompts in the product at any time; that is stated for CoCounsel. No certified-erasure statement exists for either. | On termination, what is deleted, in what period, and will you certify in writing that Practical Law question text and reports have been erased including from backups? | [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) |
| Vendor and third-party access to content | Not confirmed | No statement about who at Thomson Reuters can read Practical Law question text was found. The Australian AI solutions page claims at suite level that 'no third-party large language models (LLMs) can access customer data', and the CoCounsel FAQ describes 'systemic controls to turn off third parties' abuse-monitoring solutions to ensure there is no human access to Thomson Reuters customers' data'; that statement is about CoCounsel. The global privacy statement limits access only in general terms and applies to controller processing. | Who inside Thomson Reuters, and in which countries, can read the questions our lawyers type into Practical Law, under what approval, and can we obtain those access logs? | [AI solutions for legal professionals (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/legal/ai-solutions.html); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html); [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement) |
| Access control, single sign-on and audit | Not confirmed | No single sign-on, SCIM, multi-factor authentication, role model or audit-log capability is described for Practical Law Australia on any page read. The site publishes a general product logins page only. | Does Practical Law Australia support SAML single sign-on, SCIM provisioning and enforced multi-factor authentication, and can we export an audit log of Deep Research use by user? | [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html); [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html) |
| Encryption in transit and at rest | Not confirmed | No encryption detail is published for Practical Law. The vendor publishes specifics for CoCounsel — 'Data is encrypted in transit using TLS 1.2 and at rest with AES 256' and that all interactions with generative AI providers use zero-retention APIs under the Thomson Reuters identity — which is stated for CoCounsel, not Practical Law. The global privacy statement says only that technical and organisational measures are implemented and that absolute security cannot be guaranteed. | Confirm the encryption standards, key management and any zero-retention model API used for Practical Law Deep Research and Search and Summarise. | [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html); [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement) |
| Independent security and AI-management assurance | Public claim only | The certifications the vendor names on its Australian pages are scoped to other products. The AI trust campaign page states 'Thomson Reuters has achieved the ISO/IEC 42001:2023 certification for Westlaw and CoCounsel'. The AI solutions page states CoCounsel (Australia) was IRAP assessed on 22 June 2026 against PROTECTED classification level controls and HighQ on 18 May 2026. Practical Law Australia is not named in either statement, and no SOC 2, ISO 27001 or IRAP claim for Practical Law was found on any page read. No certificate or report was read as a document. | Is Practical Law Australia inside the scope of any ISO/IEC 42001, ISO 27001, SOC 2 or IRAP assessment, and will you provide the certificate or report with its scope statement? | [Trusted AI for lawyers (Thomson Reuters Australia campaign page)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/c/ai-lawyers-trust.html); [AI solutions for legal professionals (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/legal/ai-solutions.html) |
| Contracting entity, terms and forum | Not confirmed | No subscription agreement, master terms, data processing addendum or Australian-law governing clause for Practical Law Australia is published. The only terms document linked from the Australian pages read is 'Terms of use for this website', which covers site use and disclaims warranties for the site; the only product terms page in the Australian site map is a ProView content licence agreement. The Australian privacy URL redirects to the global privacy statement, which states that it does not apply where Thomson Reuters acts as a processor for a customer. On the entity: the Australian transparency statement in the site footer names Thomson Reuters (Australia) Pty. Limited and Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Ltd. as indirect wholly owned subsidiaries of Thomson Reuters Corporation, an Ontario corporation, but does not say which contracts for Practical Law and gives no ACN or ABN. | Which Australian entity contracts for Practical Law Australia, what is its ACN or ABN, and will you provide the subscription agreement and a data processing addendum governed by Australian law? | [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement); [Terms of use for this website (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/terms-of-use.html); [Modern Slavery Act Thomson Reuters Transparency Statement, Australia (linked in the Australian site footer)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/content/dam/ewp-m/documents/australia/en/pdf/fact-sheets/msa-tr-transparency-statement-australia.pdf) |
| Cross-border transfers and Australian residency | Not confirmed | No hosting region, data residency option or inference location is published for Practical Law Australia. The global privacy statement says that because Thomson Reuters is a global organisation, personal information 'may be transferred outside of your home country and may be stored in and accessed from multiple countries, including the United States', and asks the reader to acknowledge the risk of transfer to countries with weaker protection; that statement applies to controller processing, not to customer content. The vendor's Australian statement that all customer prompts, content and output are 'currently stored and processed in Australia' is an answer about CoCounsel Core and is not stated for Practical Law. | In which countries are Practical Law question text, Deep Research reports and model inference stored and processed, and is an Australia-only option available? | [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) |
| Incident notification | Not confirmed | No breach notification commitment, notification period or incident history for Practical Law Australia was found on any page read. The global privacy statement contains no notification clause, and there is no published subscription agreement or data processing addendum in which one could sit. | State the contractual notification period from discovery, whether it covers subprocessor incidents, and how you would support a notifiable data breach assessment under the Privacy Act. | [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement); [Terms of use for this website (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/terms-of-use.html) |
| Change notice for features, models and terms | Public claim only | The AI trust campaign page states customers 'Continually benefit from the latest breakthroughs in legal AI, with automatic access to new capabilities as they become available', and the features page lists a connected Practical Law and Westlaw search through CoCounsel as coming soon. The global privacy statement reserves the right to update it 'at any time for any reason', with notice given by changing the last-updated date and posting. No notice period for a change of model, of AI feature behaviour, or of the content set was found, and no objection right is published. | What written notice will we receive before the model or behaviour behind Deep Research changes, and can a firm decline a new AI capability that is switched on automatically? | [Trusted AI for lawyers (Thomson Reuters Australia campaign page)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/c/ai-lawyers-trust.html); [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement) |
| Export and exit | Not confirmed | No export capability, export format or post-termination access period is published for Practical Law Australia. Content is the vendor's own licensed material, so what a firm could take on exit would be its own saved work and query history; nothing published says whether either is exportable. | On exit, what can we export (saved resources, annotations, Deep Research reports, query history), in what format, and for how long does access continue after termination? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html) |
| Connectors and data flows to other products | Public claim only | Three connections are described as live: Westlaw research linked from Practical Law resources; Practical Law documents accessible within HighQ; and search and summarise of Practical Law resources within CoCounsel. A unified Practical Law and Westlaw search with a connected CoCounsel experience is listed as coming soon. Each of those products has its own terms and, in CoCounsel's case, its own separately published data statements. No third-party connector outside the Thomson Reuters portfolio is described. | When Practical Law is used inside CoCounsel or HighQ, which product's terms and retention settings govern the question text and the output? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) |
| Open-web retrieval | Public claim only | Both AI features are described as retrieving from the vendor's own corpus: Deep Research 'retrieves the most relevant Practical Law guidance and templates', and Search and Summarise returns 'links to the most relevant Practical Law resources'. No open-web browsing is described for either. For CoCounsel the vendor states it uses 'prompting guardrails that confine GenAI outputs to vetted sources, such as Thomson Reuters' own content databases' and 'not the open internet'; that statement is about CoCounsel. | Can Deep Research or Search and Summarise reach any source outside Practical Law, including the open web or a firm's own documents, and can that be disabled? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) |
| Agent behaviour and action limits | Not confirmed | Deep Research is described as an agent that 'plans the research steps needed to answer it' and then retrieves and writes a report. No action outside retrieval and report generation is described, no confirmation step is documented, and no log of the steps the agent took is described. A firm relying on the published description would be accepting that the research plan is chosen by the system rather than the lawyer. | Can a user see and change the research plan Deep Research generates before it runs, and is there a log of the steps and resources it used for each report? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html) |
| Human review before use | Public claim only | The vendor's published position is verification by the reader rather than an enforced control: Deep Research delivers 'a clear, cited research report you can act on immediately', the overview page describes 'citations for verification', and the AI solutions page describes 'Direct links to source documents for a seamless “trust, but verify” approach'. No product control that requires or records a lawyer's review before an output is used, and no disclaimer requiring review, was found on the pages read. | What control can we configure to require and record a lawyer's review of a Deep Research report before it is relied on or sent to a client? | [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html); [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html); [AI solutions for legal professionals (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/legal/ai-solutions.html) |

## Notes

Four firecrawl operations were spent on this product: the Australian privacy URL (which redirects to the global privacy statement), the Australian AI trust campaign page, the Practical Law product overview and the Australian AI solutions page. The features page, products index, frontier-model press release, Australian website terms of use, CoCounsel Australian page and the Australian transparency statement were read free from the shared Thomson Reuters cache at .firecrawl/vendors/thomson-reuters-au/. CONFIDENCE IS LOW BECAUSE ELEVEN OF THE TWENTY CRITICAL CONTROLS COULD NOT BE VERIFIED FOR THIS PRODUCT. NOT REACHED, and where it would sit: there is no published subscription agreement, master terms or data processing addendum for Practical Law Australia anywhere on the Australian site — the footer links only website terms of use and the global privacy statement, and the only product terms page in the Australian site map is a ProView content licence agreement — so contract, incidents, retention, deletion, transfers, subprocessors, exit, access control and encryption are all unverified for this product and would have to come from the order form and any negotiated addendum. SCOPE DISCIPLINE: the vendor publishes detailed data statements (no training, TLS 1.2 and AES 256, zero-retention model APIs, organisation-level retention, Australian storage and processing) on its CoCounsel Australian page, and names ISO/IEC 42001 for Westlaw and CoCounsel and IRAP PROTECTED for CoCounsel (Australia) and HighQ. None of those statements names Practical Law, so none has been carried across; each is recorded as what it is, a statement about another product. No model or provider is named for either Practical Law AI feature. The Australian contracting entity and its ACN or ABN are not published. DUPLICATE IN THIS WAVE: the roster row practical-law-au-deep-research points at the same page and the same feature set; Deep Research is recorded here as a named feature of this product. Capability list updated 2026-09-27 when the controlled vocabulary was extended from 19 to 38 values: added advice-memo-drafting, legislative-comparison. Values already present were kept, because they remain true descriptions of what the product does.

## Sources

- [Practical Law features — Deep Research powered by agentic AI, Search and summarise with Generative AI (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law/features.html) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Thomson Reuters leverages its world-class data assets to launch its own frontier model — press release, 24 August 2026](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/press-releases/2026/august/thomson-reuters-leverages-its-world-class-data-assets-to-launch-its-own-frontier-model.html) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Practical Law Australia — product overview](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/practical-law.html) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Trusted AI for lawyers (Thomson Reuters Australia campaign page)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/c/ai-lawyers-trust.html) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [AI solutions for legal professionals (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/legal/ai-solutions.html) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement (effective June 2012, last updated 31 July 2026)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com/en/privacy-statement) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Terms of use for this website (Thomson Reuters Australia)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/terms-of-use.html) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [CoCounsel — Thomson Reuters Australia product page and frequently asked questions](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products/cocounsel.html) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Modern Slavery Act Thomson Reuters Transparency Statement, Australia (linked in the Australian site footer)](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/content/dam/ewp-m/documents/australia/en/pdf/fact-sheets/msa-tr-transparency-statement-australia.pdf) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Thomson Reuters Australia products index — Practical Law listing and Deep Research promotion](https://www.thomsonreuters.com.au/en-au/products.html) (checked 2026-09-27)

A product profile is research to support questions. It does not approve a product for any firm. Public product information supports questions; it does not approve a product for your firm. Verify the exact plan, settings and signed terms.
