---
title: "Plaud (Plaud)"
url: "https://ailawframework.com/software/plaud"
type: "software_profile"
site: "AI Law Framework"
id: "plaud"
vendor: "Plaud"
category: "Legal-specific"
segment: "Transcription and meetings"
confidence: "medium"
last_reviewed: "2026-09-20"
---

# Plaud (Plaud)

> Hardware meeting recorder with cloud AI summaries. Trust centre claims SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/27701, no training by default, and ZDR at LLM subprocessors.…

Canonical page: https://ailawframework.com/software/plaud  
Last reviewed: 2026-09-20

Site index for agents: https://ailawframework.com/llms.txt

Plan covered: Plaud hardware recorders and cloud transcription. Organisation tenants must lock the training opt-in setting. Consumer accounts are out of scope.

Hardware meeting recorder with cloud AI summaries. Trust centre claims SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/27701, no training by default, and ZDR at LLM subprocessors. Opt-in training in user settings must be admin-disabled for legal use.

## Capabilities

- Transcription
- Document summarisation

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Deployment | SaaS |
| Hosting regions | Multiple specified locations |
| Australian region | Unknown |
| Assurance | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, HIPAA |
| Training on customer content | Opt-out |
| Retention | LLM subprocessors claimed zero retention. Plaud's own audio/transcript retention period was not stated on the trust extract. |
| Pricing | Hardware plus cloud subscription; public matrix not captured. |
| Australian presence | Unknown. No AU residency named. Recording-consent law applies. |
| Website | https://www.plaud.ai/ |

## What the research found

| Topic | Status | Finding | Open question | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Plan | Public claim only | Plaud hardware recorders plus cloud transcription/summaries. Trust centre: no training by default (opt-in in settings); LLM subprocessors on ZDR via DPAs. Consumer opt-in is a user setting — Enterprise must lock it. | Is this an organisation tenant with opt-in training disabled for all users? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Deployment | Public claim only | Multi-region cloud-hosted. Regions not named as AU on the trust page extract. | Which region stores our recordings? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Features | Public claim only | Wearable/device recording, transcription, summaries. Physical device in a meeting is obvious compared with a hidden bot, but consent is still required. | Device recording policy and consent script? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Australia | Not confirmed | No AU residency found. Listening-device statutes apply. | AU storage? Consent workflow? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Pricing | Not confirmed | Hardware plus subscription. Prices not captured here. | Hardware + seat quote. | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Export | Not confirmed | Not specified on the trust extract. | Export to DMS/matter file? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Support | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Support SLA? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Quality | Public claim only | Claims multiple enterprise transcription models including proprietary fine-tunes. No independent legal accuracy study. | Accuracy on Australian-accent privileged meetings? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Task fit | Not confirmed | Note-taking aid only. Not for covert recording or affidavits. | Approved meeting types? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Consent | Not confirmed | Device on the table still needs informed consent in many Australian contexts. | Mandatory consent before record? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Model providers | Public claim only | Multiple enterprise-grade transcription models; LLMs under ZDR DPAs. Vendors not named on the extract. | Name every LLM and ASR vendor. | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Subprocessors | Public claim only | Trust page says DPAs with all subprocessors prohibit training and use ZDR. List not extracted here. | Published dated list. | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Training | Public claim only | No training by default; explicit opt-in in user settings. Fine-tuned transcription models are not trained on user data unless opted in. Consumer opt-in is a red flag unless admin-locked. | Admin-lock opt-in off and contractual no-training. | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Feedback | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Feedback used to train? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Retention | Public claim only | LLM layer claimed ZDR. Plaud's own store retention not stated in the extract. | How long does Plaud keep audio and transcripts? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Deletion | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Delete audio/transcripts/embeddings on instruction? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Vendor access | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Staff access to recordings? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Access | Not confirmed | SSO/SCIM not on the extract. | SSO, MFA, sharing controls? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Encryption | Not confirmed | Not detailed on the extract (compliance badges only). | TLS/AES details? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Assurance | Public claim only | GDPR, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, EN 18031 claimed. Reports not inspected. | Current SOC 2 and ISO certificates. | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Contract | Public claim only | DPAs with subprocessors claimed. Customer MSA not inspected. | Customer DPA, cap, forum? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Transfers | Public claim only | Multi-region cloud. AU not named. | APP 8 map. | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Incidents | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Breach notice timeline? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Changes | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Notice before a new LLM vendor? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Exit | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Export then deletion of device-cloud data? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Connectors | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Cloud destinations for transcripts? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Web search | Not confirmed | Recording product. | Does summary chat use the open web? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Device record | Not confirmed | Physical record button is the action. Cloud sync may continue after the meeting. | Can we block cloud sync for sensitive matters? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |
| Oversight | Not confirmed | Transcripts need review. Opt-in training setting needs admin monitoring. | Who checks transcripts and the training opt-in flag? | [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) |

## Notes

Training is opt-in via user settings unless locked. LLM vendors unnamed. Hardware recording has extra consent issues versus a announced meeting bot.

## Sources

- [Plaud Trust Center](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/trust-center) (checked 2026-09-20)
- [Plaud privacy (scraped)](https://www.plaud.ai/pages/privacy) (checked 2026-09-20)

A product profile is research to support questions. It does not approve a product for any firm. Public product information supports questions; it does not approve a product for your firm. Verify the exact plan, settings and signed terms.
