---
title: "Paxton (Paxton AI, Inc.)"
url: "https://ailawframework.com/software/paxton"
type: "software_profile"
site: "AI Law Framework"
id: "paxton"
vendor: "Paxton AI, Inc."
category: "Legal-specific"
segment: "Legal research"
confidence: "medium"
last_reviewed: "2026-09-21"
---

# Paxton (Paxton AI, Inc.)

> US legal AI research/assistant platform with published subprocessors in US cloud regions.

Canonical page: https://ailawframework.com/software/paxton  
Last reviewed: 2026-09-21

Site index for agents: https://ailawframework.com/llms.txt

Plan covered: Paxton AI SaaS as documented on paxton.ai security, terms and subprocessor pages (US processing).

## Capabilities

- Legal research
- Document summarisation

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Deployment | SaaS |
| Hosting regions | United States |
| Australian region | No |
| Model providers | Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Amazon Web Services |
| Assurance | SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA (claimed) |
| Training on customer content | Unknown |
| Retention | Privacy: personal information kept while the user has an account, then deleted or anonymised; backups isolated until deletion is possible. No numbered product-content clock. |
| Legal content coverage | US federal and all-50-state statutes, regulations and case law listed on the coverage page. No Australian primary-law library. |
| Pricing | Public Individual plan USD 499/user/month or USD 2,999/user/year with a 7-day trial. Enterprise is custom volume-based pricing with onboarding and an account manager. |
| Australian presence | No. Subprocessor processing countries listed as US only as at 5 March 2025. |
| Website | https://www.paxton.ai |

## What the research found

| Topic | Status | Finding | Open question | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Paxton AI | Public claim only | US legal AI platform with published security, terms and subprocessor pages. | Which plan and modules are we buying? | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security) |
| US cloud | Public claim only | Production Customer Personal Data is processed in Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure and AWS, all listed as US (subprocessor list 5 March 2025). | Is any non-US region available? | [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| Drafting and US research | Public claim only | Platform: Quick-Start Drafting with authority links, document analysis with source highlighting, contextual research, medical chronologies and billing summaries. Coverage page lists US federal and all-50-state databases. | Which modules (research, drafting, medical chronologies) are on our Individual vs Enterprise order? | [Paxton — platform](https://www.paxton.ai/platform); [Paxton — coverage (US source library)](https://www.paxton.ai/coverage) |
| US library only | Public claim only | Coverage is US Code, CFR, Supreme Court and all 50 states plus some territories. No Australian primary law is listed. Terms: Services hosted in the United States; California law and AAA arbitration. | Is any Australian content available, or is this US-only for an Australian firm? | [Paxton — coverage (US source library)](https://www.paxton.ai/coverage); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service) |
| Public Individual price | Public claim only | Pricing page (read 2026-09-21): Individual USD 499 per user/month or USD 2,999 per user/year (stated 50% saving), 7-day free trial. Enterprise is custom volume-based pricing. Terms cap liability at fees paid in the prior six months. | Is GST/withholding addressed, and does Enterprise replace the consumer-style Terms? | [Paxton — pricing](https://www.paxton.ai/pricing); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service) |
| integration | Not confirmed | Not documented on the pages reviewed in this pass. | Provide current contractual evidence for this control. | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service); [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| Enterprise account manager | Public claim only | Enterprise includes dedicated onboarding, workflow setup, priority support and an account manager. Individual has a Help Center (help.paxton.ai / gitbook). No public Sev-1 hours. | What is the contractual Sev-1 response time on our order? | [Paxton — pricing](https://www.paxton.ai/pricing) |
| qualityEvidence | Not confirmed | Not documented on the pages reviewed in this pass. | Provide current contractual evidence for this control. | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service); [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| US research and first-pass drafts | Public claim only | Marketed as a co-pilot that drafts motions/contracts/letters, summarises depositions and searches US case law with citations. Disclaimer: not a law firm; information is not legal advice. Checking time is not measured. | Show a typical research memo and the time a US-qualified lawyer spends verifying citations. | [Paxton — platform](https://www.paxton.ai/platform); [Paxton — disclaimer](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/disclaimer) |
| Not privileged; customer direction | Public claim only | Footer and disclaimer: self-help at the user's specific direction; not a law firm; communications are not attorney-client privilege or work product. Customer decides what client files to upload. | What client disclosure do we use before uploading matter files into a US-hosted tool? | [Paxton — disclaimer](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/disclaimer); [Paxton — platform](https://www.paxton.ai/platform) |
| US cloud LLMs unnamed | Public claim only | Subprocessor list (5 March 2025): Google Cloud Platform, Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services each listed as cloud infrastructure and 'Language Learning Model', processing in the US. Foundation-model brand names (OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini) are not stated. | Name each foundation model, the contracting entity and whether Azure OpenAI vs public OpenAI is used. | [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| List | Public claim only | Dated 5 March 2025 list; GCP, Azure, AWS in the US; DPA on request via legal@paxton.ai; change notice via a Typeform signup. The page says it does not give additional contractual rights. | Confirm we are subscribed to notices and that the DPA is signed. | [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| No-training FAQ vs improve-Services privacy | Not confirmed | Platform FAQ: all data is encrypted, never used for model training, and remains fully private. Privacy: personal information may be processed 'to evaluate and improve our Services, products, marketing, and your experience.' Those two statements are not the same as a no-training DPA clause. | Does the signed DPA prohibit training of Paxton or third-party models on prompts, documents and outputs? | [Paxton — platform](https://www.paxton.ai/platform); [Paxton — privacy policy](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/privacy-policy) |
| Improve Services | Public claim only | Privacy: personal information may be processed to evaluate and improve Services, products, marketing and experience. No separate product-feedback toggle is described. | Is improvement use limited to aggregated telemetry, and can we contract it out? | [Paxton — privacy policy](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/privacy-policy) |
| Account-life personal data | Public claim only | Privacy: personal information kept as long as needed for stated purposes, and no purpose requires keeping it longer than the period users have an account. Then delete or anonymise; if stuck in backups, isolate until deletion is possible. Product-content / embedding clocks are not numbered. | State default retention for chats, uploads, embeddings and logs, including model-provider ZDR. | [Paxton — privacy policy](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/privacy-policy) |
| Account and privacy deletion | Public claim only | Privacy: users may review, update or delete personal information collected (s 15). Terms: Paxton may terminate and delete the account and posted content at any time without warning. No certified 30-day deletion of matter files on customer exit. | On our exit, will you certify deletion of uploads, embeddings and subprocessors within 30 days? | [Paxton — privacy policy](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/privacy-policy); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service) |
| Least access; quarterly reviews | Public claim only | Security page: quarterly access reviews and principle of least access so only authorised personnel have access to sensitive data. Countries of staff access are not named. Privacy: technical and organisational measures claimed, no 100% guarantee. | Who can read our files, from which countries, and can we see access logs? | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security); [Paxton — privacy policy](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/privacy-policy) |
| Enterprise admin; SSO not stated | Public claim only | Enterprise pricing lists administrative controls and user management. Security: least access and quarterly reviews. SSO/SCIM/MFA are not described on security or pricing. | Confirm SSO/SCIM/MFA on our tenant and export of a complete audit log. | [Paxton — pricing](https://www.paxton.ai/pricing); [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security) |
| In transit and at rest | Public claim only | Security: advanced encryption protocols in transit and at rest. Algorithms (TLS/AES versions) are not named. Trust centre lists full-device or container-based encryption as an endpoint control, not a product-data spec. | Name TLS and at-rest algorithms on the model path, including embeddings. | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security); [Paxton — trust centre](https://paxton.trust.site/) |
| SOC/ISO/HIPAA | Public claim only | SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA badges. Reports not inspected. | Provide current reports with scope. | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security) |
| Terms and DPA | Public claim only | Public terms of service exist. DPA is offered by email, not published as a standard attachment in this pass. | Provide the signed DPA, liability and governing law. | [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service) |
| US processing | Public claim only | Subprocessor table: US for GCP, Azure and AWS. No Australian region. | What is the APP 8 basis for US inference and storage? | [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| Incident awareness control | Public claim only | Trust centre controls include 'Situational Awareness For Incidents'. No contractual notification period (e.g. 72 hours) was found on terms, privacy or trust extracts. | State the contractual notification period and any incidents in 24 months. | [Paxton — trust centre](https://paxton.trust.site/) |
| Typeform subprocessor notices | Public claim only | Subprocessor page: customers can sign up via Typeform to be notified of subprocessor changes; the list itself is an advisory that does not give additional contractual rights. Terms: Paxton may change, suspend or discontinue Services at any time without notice. | What notice before a new model or processor, and can we object under a signed DPA? | [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service) |
| exit | Not confirmed | Not documented on the pages reviewed in this pass. | Provide current contractual evidence for this control. | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service); [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| Optional social-account linking | Not confirmed | Terms allow linking Third-Party Accounts (social logins). Enabling those is the customer's choice. No DMS/PMS connectors were documented on pages reviewed. | List every connector on our tenant and disable social login if unused. | [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service) |
| Web | Not confirmed | Not documented. | Can web search be disabled? | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security) |
| actionControl | Not confirmed | Not documented on the pages reviewed in this pass. | Provide current contractual evidence for this control. | [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security); [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service); [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) |
| Not legal advice | Public claim only | Disclaimer (16 June 2023) and site footer: the Site cannot contain legal advice; consult appropriate professionals before acting; use is at the user's own risk. No in-product lawyer-approval gate is described. | Can we require a named lawyer to approve every research output before it leaves the draft workspace? | [Paxton — disclaimer](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/disclaimer) |

## Notes

US-only processing on the March 2025 subprocessor list. DPA by email to legal@paxton.ai. Platform FAQ says data is never used for model training; privacy also processes personal information to evaluate and improve Services. Coverage is US only. List may be stale.

## Sources

- [Paxton — security](https://www.paxton.ai/platform/security) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — terms of service](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/terms-of-service) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — subprocessor list (5 March 2025)](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/subprocessor-list) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — privacy policy](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/privacy-policy) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — trust centre](https://paxton.trust.site/) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — coverage (US source library)](https://www.paxton.ai/coverage) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — platform](https://www.paxton.ai/platform) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — pricing](https://www.paxton.ai/pricing) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [Paxton — disclaimer](https://www.paxton.ai/legal/disclaimer) (checked 2026-09-21)

A product profile is research to support questions. It does not approve a product for any firm. Public product information supports questions; it does not approve a product for your firm. Verify the exact plan, settings and signed terms.
