---
title: "Mike (Open Legal Products (MikeOSS))"
url: "https://ailawframework.com/software/mike-os"
type: "software_profile"
site: "AI Law Framework"
id: "mike-os"
vendor: "Open Legal Products (MikeOSS)"
category: "Legal-specific"
segment: "Drafting assistants"
confidence: "medium"
last_reviewed: "2026-09-21"
---

# Mike (Open Legal Products (MikeOSS))

> Open-source legal AI platform for document chat, cited review, workflows and case research that a firm can self-host, inspect and fork.

Canonical page: https://ailawframework.com/software/mike-os  
Last reviewed: 2026-09-21

Site index for agents: https://ailawframework.com/llms.txt

Plan covered: Self-hosted AGPL-3.0 deployment versus the hosted demo at app.mikeoss.com. The privacy notice covers only the hosted site/demo. Customer-chosen model keys apply in both modes.

## Capabilities

- Legal research
- Contract drafting
- Contract review and redlining
- Due-diligence document review
- Document summarisation
- Knowledge search
- Agentic workflows

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Deployment | Self-hosted, SaaS |
| Hosting regions | Unknown |
| Australian region | Unknown |
| Model providers | Anthropic, Google Gemini, OpenAI |
| Training on customer content | No |
| Retention | Self-host: maintainers do not collect documents or prompts. Hosted demo: retained as needed to operate the service; no numbered deletion schedule. Model-provider retention follows the provider the operator configures. |
| Integrations | Microsoft Word add-in, Slack, MCP servers, CourtListener |
| Legal content coverage | Home: case-law research; v0.3.0 notes CourtListener integration. Australian primary law is not described as a licensed corpus. |
| Pricing | Home page: zero licence cost; no per-seat vendor pricing; the operator pays only the model API costs it incurs. Hosted demo at app.mikeoss.com is a free evaluation service. |
| Australian presence | Unknown. Australian Financial Review is listed among press logos on the home page (May 2026 URL). No Australian hosting region or office was stated. |
| Website | https://mikeoss.com |

## What the research found

| Topic | Status | Finding | Open question | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-host versus hosted demo | Public claim only | Home: start in the cloud or clone the repo. Privacy: the policy covers mikeoss.com and app.mikeoss.com only; self-hosted deployments are outside maintainer collection. GitHub: GNU AGPL v3.0. Hosted demo must not receive confidential or privileged material. | Will we self-host under AGPL, or is any paid hosted tenancy offered under a DPA? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| Self-hostable by design | Public claim only | Home: documents never leave your perimeter when self-hosted. README describes Next.js, Express, Supabase Auth/Postgres and Docker Compose with object storage. Hosted demo region is not stated. | If we self-host, which regions will our Supabase/storage/model endpoints use? If we use the demo, where is it hosted? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| Assistant, tabular review, workflows | Public claim only | Home: chat over documents with citations, case research, spreadsheet-style tabular review, reusable workflows, matter-scoped projects. Blog notes MFA, MCP connectors, Word add-in in the repo, CourtListener in v0.3.0. | Which features are stable in the tagged release we would run, versus demo-only? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| CourtListener, not Australian corpus | Public claim only | v0.3.0 article on the home page names CourtListener integration. No licensed Australian case-law or legislation corpus is described. | What jurisdictions does CourtListener cover in our build, and can we point the citation engine at Australian sources? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| AGPL-3.0; zero vendor seat fee | Public claim only | GitHub: GNU Affero General Public License v3.0. Home: zero licence cost; pay only API costs. Network-use copyleft may require sharing modifications if the firm offers the software to third parties over a network. No commercial licence was found. | Does AGPL-3.0 permit our internal self-host without publishing firm workflows, and is a commercial licence available? | [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike); [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| Word, Slack, MCP | Public claim only | Repository includes a word-addin directory. Home/changelog: Slack and any MCP server, two self-host setup pathways. DMS connectors are invited ('integrate your DMS') rather than named as shipping products. | Which connectors are in the release we would run, and do they honour source-system permissions? | [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike); [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| No vendor SLA | Not confirmed | Privacy: contact via the site form. No published support hours, severity SLA or named vendor entity for a paid support contract. Press coverage is listed; that is not a support commitment. | Is paid support or a hosted enterprise tenancy offered, and by which legal entity? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| Independent video review listed | Public claim only | Home: 22 June 2026 post describes an independent video review by three lawyers over two weeks. No Vals AI / Stanford RegLab score was found. Tabular review is marketed as cited to page and quote. | Share the review protocol and allow a scored trial on our documents. | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| Self-host for matter work; demo is evaluation only | Public claim only | Privacy: do not upload confidential, privileged, proprietary, client, regulated, personal or sensitive materials to the hosted demo. Self-host is the path if the firm wants perimeter control. Output still requires lawyer verification. | Confirm we will not put matter data in app.mikeoss.com, and who operates our self-host? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| Client disclosure for open-source stack | Not confirmed | No client-consent template. Self-host still sends prompts to whichever model provider the firm configures, unless a local model is used. Hosted demo is expressly unsuitable for client material. | Provide (or we will draft) a client-disclosure describing self-host, model provider and AGPL. | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| Customer-chosen keys | Public claim only | README: add an Anthropic, Gemini or OpenAI API key unless using another configured endpoint. Changelog: OpenAI-compatible registry for self-hosted or third-party endpoints. Privacy: inputs go to the provider selected for that deployment. | Which providers and regions will we configure, and will we use local models for matter data? | [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike); [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| Operator-chosen stack | Public claim only | Self-host: subprocessors are the firm's Supabase, storage and model providers. Hosted demo: privacy allows sharing with infrastructure, hosting, storage, auth, email, analytics or model providers; no named dated list. | For the hosted demo, name every processor and region. For self-host, we will inventory our own. | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| No foundation-model training by MikeOSS | Public claim only | Privacy: MikeOSS does not train foundation models on prompts, documents, chats or outputs. Third-party model handling, retention, logging and training follow that provider's API terms and settings. Local models stay local unless telemetry is configured. | Confirm ZDR/no-train on every API key we will use, including the hosted demo if anyone evaluates it. | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| Hosted usage may improve the product | Public claim only | Privacy (hosted): information may be used to understand usage and improve the product. Self-host: maintainers do not collect usage data. No separate feedback-toggle was described. | Does hosted telemetry include prompt text, and can it be disabled? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| No numbered hosted schedule | Public claim only | Hosted: retain as long as needed to provide the service, maintain records, resolve disputes, enforce agreements and comply with law. Self-host: operator's own retention. Model-provider logs are outside MikeOSS control. | State hosted retention for chats, uploads and logs, or confirm we must self-host to control it. | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| Rights listed, process not numbered | Not confirmed | Privacy lists access, correction, deletion, restriction, portability depending on location. No 30-day certified deletion for the hosted demo was stated. Self-host deletion is the operator's. | How do we delete a hosted-demo account and provider logs, and will you certify? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| Maintainers do not see self-host data | Public claim only | Privacy: self-host means maintainers do not collect account data, documents, prompts, chats, search history or usage. Hosted: maintainers may use information to operate, secure and troubleshoot. No named access log for the demo. | Who can access hosted-demo content, and is that access logged? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| MFA claimed; org walls in code | Public claim only | Home: v0.3.0 adds MFA. GitHub history discusses organisation-admin deny overrides on matters. Hosted access-control documentation was not a separate admin guide in this pass. | Is SSO available on hosted, and how are ethical walls configured in self-host? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| Not specified in privacy | Not confirmed | Privacy: technical and organisational measures are used; no TLS/at-rest algorithm statement. Self-host encryption depends on the operator's Supabase/storage/TLS configuration. | Document TLS and at-rest encryption for the hosted demo, and the defaults in docker-compose. | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| No SOC 2 or ISO claim found | Not confirmed | No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 claim was found on the home page, privacy notice or GitHub README extract. SECURITY.md exists in the repo; this pass did not treat it as a certification. | Is any independent assurance offered for the hosted demo, or must we rely on self-host controls? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| AGPL plus privacy; no public DPA | Not confirmed | No public terms of service or DPA for the hosted demo were found (privacy only). Self-host is AGPL-3.0. Contracting entity, governing law and liability cap are unpublished. | Name the contracting entity, provide Terms/DPA for any hosted use, and confirm AGPL obligations for internal self-host. | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| Depends on deployment | Public claim only | Self-host transfers are those of the firm's chosen providers. Hosted demo hosting country is not stated; model providers (OpenAI/Anthropic/Google) typically process outside Australia. | Where is app.mikeoss.com hosted, and which countries will our model traffic enter? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| No published notification SLA | Not confirmed | Privacy does not state a customer-notification period for a personal-data breach. SECURITY.md exists in the repository. | What is the incident-notification period for the hosted demo, and who is the security contact? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| Open-source changelog | Public claim only | Home lists version posts (v0.1.0 April 2026 through v0.4.0 July 2026). Privacy may be updated by posting. No contractual change-notice for a hosted service. | How do we pin a release for production self-host, and how is hosted-demo change communicated? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| Self-host data stays with operator | Public claim only | Self-host: data is in the firm's database/storage; exit is ordinary backup/export. Hosted: deletion/export process is not numbered beyond general privacy rights. | What export format exists for hosted-demo workspaces, and when is it purged after we leave? | [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy); [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| MCP and Slack | Public claim only | Changelog on the home page and GitHub: Slack plus any MCP server, with two self-host setup pathways. Connectors can send matter text to third systems if configured. | Which connectors are enabled by default, and how do we require per-action approval? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) |
| Case research via CourtListener | Public claim only | CourtListener integration is named for legal research. Open-web browsing is not separately described. Self-host could add other tools. | Does the assistant browse the open web, or only CourtListener and uploaded documents? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |
| Workflows and MCP tools | Not confirmed | Reusable workflows and MCP connectors can run multi-step actions. Guardrails and human-approval defaults for consequential actions were not documented on the privacy page. Hosted demo should not be used for client actions. | Which actions can run unattended, and how do we require a human step before any external write? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com); [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) |
| Citations claimed; no mandatory gate | Public claim only | Tabular review is described as every cell cited to a page and quote. No contractual requirement that a lawyer accept output before export. Professional responsibility remains with the firm. | Is there an in-product review acknowledgement, or do we rely on firm policy? | [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) |

## Notes

Hosted demo is evaluation-only. No public DPA, SOC 2 or numbered hosted retention. Self-host governance is the firm's. AFR is listed as press on the vendor site; the article body was not scraped in this pass.

## Sources

- [MikeOSS — home](https://mikeoss.com) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [MikeOSS — Privacy Policy](https://mikeoss.com/privacy) (checked 2026-09-21)
- [GitHub — Open-Legal-Products/mike (AGPL-3.0)](https://github.com/open-legal-products/mike) (checked 2026-09-21)

A product profile is research to support questions. It does not approve a product for any firm. Public product information supports questions; it does not approve a product for your firm. Verify the exact plan, settings and signed terms.
