---
title: "IP First Response chatbot (Commonwealth of Australia (IP Australia))"
url: "https://ailawframework.com/software/ip-australia-ip-first-response"
type: "software_profile"
site: "AI Law Framework"
id: "ip-australia-ip-first-response"
vendor: "Commonwealth of Australia (IP Australia)"
category: "Legal-specific"
segment: "Intake and client service"
confidence: "medium"
last_reviewed: "2026-09-27"
---

# IP First Response chatbot (Commonwealth of Australia (IP Australia))

> Free public chatbot published by the Australian Government IP agency that answers questions about Australian intellectual property disputes in plain English from a curated corpus, with links to the pages used.…

Canonical page: https://ailawframework.com/software/ip-australia-ip-first-response  
Last reviewed: 2026-09-27

Site index for agents: https://ailawframework.com/llms.txt

Plan covered: The free public IP First Response chatbot, which the operator describes as a pilot still in development. The platform's non-AI Navigator tool, the published content data feed and other IP Australia services need separate review.

Free public chatbot published by the Australian Government IP agency that answers questions about Australian intellectual property disputes in plain English from a curated corpus, with links to the pages used. No account required.

## Capabilities

- Legal research
- Intake and triage
- Public legal guidance

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Deployment | SaaS |
| Hosting regions | Australia |
| Australian region | Yes |
| Model providers | Anthropic (model, named by the operator), Amazon Web Services (Amazon Bedrock, named as the hosting service) |
| Training on customer content | No |
| Retention | The chatbot is stateless between sessions and nothing from a conversation is retained in the browser once the session ends. Before storage, conversations pass through an automated filter that detects and removes the most common personal information, which the privacy notice says may not be fully effective. Limited records are kept for service assurance and monitoring, quality improvement, troubleshooting, improving content and services, and informing service design and policy development. No retention period is published. |
| Legal content coverage | Australian intellectual property enforcement and disputes. The corpus is the IP First Response plain-language enforcement content, which the operator states makes up the majority of it, plus a curated selection of IP Australia public web pages. The operator states the chatbot has no access to the open internet. It is not a case law or legislation database. |
| Pricing | Free to use and no account is required. The operator calls it an experimental free tool; the 4 May 2026 news item calls it a free AI-powered chatbot being piloted. No paid tier, seat count or usage charge appears on any page read. |
| Australian presence | Yes. Published by IP Australia, an Australian Government agency, under a Commonwealth of Australia copyright notice; the 4 May 2026 news item attributes the platform to IP Australia's IPAVentures team. No ABN or ACN appears on any page read, and the Australian Business Register was not checked within the operation budget. Addresses published on the security statement: PO Box 200, Woden ACT 2606, and Discovery House, 47 Bowes Street, Phillip ACT 2606. Privacy contact Privacy@ipaustralia.gov.au; platform contact ipfirstresponse@ipaustralia.gov.au. On residency the operator states interaction data is held in Australia and that the model is 'hosted securely in Australia with Amazon Bedrock'; the privacy notice separately states personal information may be temporarily held overseas while being processed but will only be stored on a persistent basis in Australia. |
| Website | https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/ |

## What the research found

| Topic | Status | Finding | Open question | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Release stage | Public claim only | The disclaimers page (last updated 5 March 2025) states IP First Response 'is a new pilot service being trialled by IP Australia. It is still in development.' The 4 May 2026 news item says IP Australia 'is piloting' the chatbot and that it 'is currently in its early stages of rollout'. The site's own logo files are named alpha and beta; no page read states which stage the chatbot is at now. | Has the chatbot moved past pilot or beta, and what is the published criterion and date for general availability? | [Disclaimers - IP First Response (last updated 5 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/disclaimers); [Introducing IP First Response's new chatbot - IP Australia news (published 04 May 2026)](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/news-and-community/news/introducing-ip-first-response-new-chatbot); [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |
| What the chatbot does | Public claim only | The 'About the AI Chatbot' page (22 April 2026) describes retrieval-augmented generation: the question is first assessed for whether it is in remit (the chatbot may say it cannot help or ask follow-up questions), then rewritten in several forms and turned into vector embeddings, then matched by meaning rather than keywords against the corpus, then an AI model reads the retrieved material and writes the response, links the exact pages used and pre-writes follow-up questions for selection. A feedback option sits at the bottom of each response. The platform's Navigator tool is described as a filter-based alternative 'with no AI involved'. | Which parts of that pipeline are configurable, and is the remit assessment step documented anywhere a user can inspect? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |
| Jurisdiction and corpus | Public claim only | The operator states the chatbot returns 'Australia specific information' and draws only on IP First Response content about IP enforcement options in Australia plus a curated selection of IP Australia public web pages. It is not described as covering case law, legislation as enacted, or any jurisdiction other than Australia. Currency of the corpus is not stated. | How often is the corpus refreshed, and how is a user told the date to which the material is current? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |
| Content licence and reuse | Public claim only | The For Developers page (22 May 2026) states that with the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, IP Australia logos and material otherwise noted, all material on the website is provided under a CC BY 4.0 International licence, and asks that content used for model training attribute the IP First Response website as the source of the dataset. Third-party copyright remains with the original owner and permission may be required. | Which parts of the corpus are the 'otherwise noted' exclusions from the CC BY 4.0 licence, and does the licence extend to the structured options data feed in full? | [For Developers - IP First Response (last updated 22 May 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/developers) |
| Vendor content addressed to AI systems | Public claim only | Checked on 2026-09-27 across the chatbot, developer, privacy, disclaimer and news pages and a URL map of the site: no page or block was found telling AI models, assistants or crawlers how to describe the product, and no /llms.txt, /ai-info or /for-ai URL appeared in the map. The site does publish a page addressed to AI builders at /developers, headed in part 'Use IP First Response content in your own AI work', which names 'People exploring chatbot tools (ChatGPT, Copilot, Claude, etc.)' among its audience, offers a feed at /options-data-feed 'designed to plug into AI tools', and states: 'Where content from this website is used for model training, please attribute the IP First Response website.' That page invites reuse of content; it does not direct how the product is to be characterised. | Is the /options-data-feed feed versioned and dated, and does IP Australia give any currency or accuracy commitment to a firm that embeds it in its own assistant? | [For Developers - IP First Response (last updated 22 May 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/developers) |
| Published quality evidence | Public claim only | The operator states the chatbot was tested 'extensively with real business owners and subject matter experts', that responses were refined, and that safeguards were built 'against the most common failure modes', while also calling it 'an imperfect solution, far from reaching its full potential on day one'. No test method, result, error rate, evaluation set or list of safeguards is published on any page read. The privacy notice states the chatbot 'may get some information incorrect or otherwise present information in a false or misleading way'. | Publish or provide the evaluation method and results for the pilot, including the measured rate at which the chatbot answers outside its corpus or declines correctly. | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Stated limits on use | Public claim only | The privacy notice states the chatbot 'is not intended to provide specific advice about the circumstances of identified individuals' and is not a substitute for reading source material or obtaining qualified advice. The disclaimers page states the website does not provide legal, financial or business advice and that IP Australia makes no warranty that the material is complete or free from error. The news item states the platform is designed to support, not replace, professional legal advice. | For a firm pointing clients at this tool, what wording does IP Australia consider appropriate to describe its limits? | [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice); [Disclaimers - IP First Response (last updated 5 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/disclaimers); [Introducing IP First Response's new chatbot - IP Australia news (published 04 May 2026)](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/news-and-community/news/introducing-ip-first-response-new-chatbot) |
| Support and feedback channels | Public claim only | Published channels are a feedback option at the bottom of each chatbot response, a Qualtrics feedback form linked in the site footer, the inbox ipfirstresponse@ipaustralia.gov.au, and the IP Australia call centre. No service level, response time or security contact for the chatbot was found on the pages read; the IP Australia site publishes a separate vulnerability disclosure policy, linked from the security statement. | What is the response commitment for a report that the chatbot has produced incorrect information, and who is the security contact for the chatbot specifically? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [Security statement - IP Australia](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/about-this-site/security-statement) |
| What may be typed in, and on whose authority | Public claim only | The Chatbot Privacy Notice (22 April 2026) instructs users not to enter personal information (names, contact details, business identifiers, information about an identifiable individual, sensitive information), commercially sensitive information, or legally privileged or confidential material, and not to ask the chatbot to generate personal information. It states that anything entered in the free-text fields will be collected and handled by IP Australia, that by entering information the user consents to that handling, and that the user warrants they have 'the appropriate authorisation to permit such handling'. Selecting 'Start chat' is the consent gate, and access is refused without it. | For a practitioner using the chatbot on a live client matter, does IP Australia accept matter facts that could identify a client, and what happens to a conversation in which privileged material is entered by mistake? | [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Foundation model and provider | Public claim only | The 'About the AI Chatbot' page (22 April 2026) states: 'We use an AI model from Anthropic, hosted securely in Australia with Amazon Bedrock, to read the retrieved information and write a response that answers your query while adhering to guidelines we've set.' The model name and version are not published, no embedding model is named, and no page read describes any user or organisational model choice. The privacy notice refers generally to 'third-party technology providers' without naming them. | Which Anthropic model and version is in production, which model produces the embeddings, and what change notice is given when either is replaced? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Third-party providers | Public claim only | No subprocessor list is published. The chatbot page names Anthropic as the model provider and Amazon Bedrock as the hosting service. The Chatbot Privacy Notice states that where third-party technology providers are involved IP Australia may disclose personal information to them for the purpose of providing the service, and applies 'contractual, technical and governance controls'. The platform privacy collection statement (25 March 2025) names Mixpanel for anonymous website and tool analytics using first-party cookies. Feedback forms are hosted on a Qualtrics domain. | Provide the current list of third-party providers for the chatbot, with entity, country, purpose and the data each receives, including analytics and feedback-form providers. | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice); [Privacy - IP First Response privacy collection statement (last updated 25 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/privacy) |
| Training on user content | Public claim only | The Chatbot Privacy Notice states that, subject to disclosures required by law, personal information entered into the chatbot is not used 'to train or fine-tune AI models', and separately that 'User inputs are not used to train AI models.' The same notice permits limited records to be retained for quality improvement, improving IP Australia content and services, and informing service design and policy development. The notice is the consent document a user accepts to use the chatbot; there is no separate customer contract. | Is the no-training position also binding on Anthropic and Amazon Web Services by contract, and does it cover fine-tuning, evaluation datasets and prompt-improvement sets as well as model training? | [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Feedback and quality monitoring | Public claim only | The chatbot page states there is a feedback option at the bottom of each response and that 'It directly informs how we improve the system.' The privacy notice lists service assurance and monitoring, quality improvement, troubleshooting and service design among the purposes for which limited records may be retained, and states that where practicable personal information may be de-identified. It does not say whether a flagged response is retained with its conversation, or for how long. | When a user submits negative feedback on a response, what is stored with it, who reviews it, and how long is it kept? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Retention of conversations | Public claim only | The chatbot page states the chatbot is stateless and that nothing from a conversation is retained in the browser after the session ends, and that before storage the conversation is run through an algorithmic filter that removes 'the most common types of personally identifiable information like IP registration numbers and email addresses'. The privacy notice states automated controls remove personal information from long-term storage 'where possible', that the process 'may not be 100% effective', and that limited records may be retained for named purposes. No retention period is published in either document. | What is the retention period for stored chatbot interaction records, and what is retained where the automated filter fails to remove personal information? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Deletion of stored records | Not confirmed | Neither the chatbot page nor the Chatbot Privacy Notice describes a way to have a stored conversation record deleted, and there is no account to delete because the chatbot is used anonymously. The privacy notice points to IP Australia's agency Privacy Policy for access, correction and complaints; that policy was not reached within the operation budget and is at https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/our-agency/privacy. | How does a user ask for a stored chatbot interaction record to be deleted, given that conversations are anonymous and cannot be identified by an account, and what is the timeframe? | [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice); [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |
| Who can read stored conversations | Public claim only | The chatbot page states interaction data 'is held in Australia, protected by access controls, audit logging, and encryption' and that IP Australia does not sell or share the data. The privacy notice states records may be retained for troubleshooting and service assurance and that personal information may be disclosed to third-party technology providers for the purpose of providing the service. Neither document states which roles inside IP Australia may read stored conversations, or whether provider staff can. | Which roles inside IP Australia, and which provider personnel, can read stored chatbot conversations, and is that access logged and reviewable? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Access control and administration | Not confirmed | The chatbot is a public endpoint used without an account: the operator states 'You don't need to create an account or tell us who you are.' There is therefore no authentication, no role model and no administrative console. The IP Australia security statement describes username and password verification for its own logged-in online services, which are separate from the chatbot. Nothing in the pages read lets an organisation restrict, log or administer staff use. | Is there any way for an organisation to see, restrict or log its staff's use of the chatbot, or is it purely an unauthenticated public endpoint? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [Security statement - IP Australia](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/about-this-site/security-statement) |
| Encryption | Public claim only | The chatbot page states interaction data held in Australia is protected by encryption, without naming algorithms or distinguishing transit from rest. The IP Australia security statement says the agency follows the Australian Government Cyber Security Standards and encrypts information sent between the user's computer and its servers using SSL/TLS when logging in to its online services. No key-management statement was found for the chatbot. | Name the encryption in transit and at rest for chatbot conversations and the key-management arrangement, including for data passed to the model provider. | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [Security statement - IP Australia](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/about-this-site/security-statement) |
| Independent security assurance | Not confirmed | No independent assurance report is published for the chatbot. The IP Australia security statement (read 2026-09-27) says the agency follows the Australian Government Cyber Security Standards and describes encryption and password protection; it names no SOC 2 report, ISO/IEC 27001 certificate or IRAP assessment. The site publishes a vulnerability disclosure policy, linked from that statement. | Has the chatbot undergone an IRAP assessment or other independent security assessment, and can the report or an assessment summary be provided? | [Security statement - IP Australia](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/about-this-site/security-statement) |
| Terms, liability and forum | Public claim only | There is no customer contract: use is governed by the disclaimers page (5 March 2025) and the consent gate in the Chatbot Privacy Notice. The disclaimers state IP Australia 'makes no warranty or representation that the material is complete or free from error' and accepts 'no legal responsibility regarding the accuracy and reliability of material on this website', and no liability for interference with or damage to the user's computer, software or data. No service level, indemnity, governing-law clause or liability cap appears. The privacy notice is expressly subject to the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and the Australian Privacy Principles. | Is any service commitment, indemnity or written assurance available to an organisation relying on the chatbot, or is use entirely at the user's risk under the disclaimer? | [Disclaimers - IP First Response (last updated 5 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/disclaimers); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) |
| Cross-border processing | Public claim only | The Chatbot Privacy Notice states: 'It is possible that personal information may be temporarily held overseas when being processed, including as facilitated by relevant third-party technology providers. However, such personal information will only be stored on a persistent basis in Australia.' The chatbot page separately states the model is 'hosted securely in Australia with Amazon Bedrock' and that interaction data is held in Australia. The two statements are not necessarily inconsistent, but the notice leaves open which processing may occur overseas and in which country, and no country is named. | Which processing steps may occur outside Australia, in which countries, and does model inference itself run only in an Australian region? | [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice); [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |
| Incident notification | Not confirmed | No breach-notification commitment, timeframe or incident history was found in the Chatbot Privacy Notice, the platform privacy collection statement, the disclaimers page or the IP Australia security statement. The privacy notice states that personal information is protected by law including the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and the Australian Privacy Principles, and that IP Australia may disclose personal information where required or authorised by a court or tribunal order, under an Australian law, or compelled by Parliament. | How will users be told if stored chatbot interaction records are involved in a data breach, and within what period from discovery? | [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice); [Security statement - IP Australia](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/about-this-site/security-statement); [Privacy - IP First Response privacy collection statement (last updated 25 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/privacy) |
| Change notice | Not confirmed | Each published page carries a 'Last updated' date (chatbot page and privacy notice 22 April 2026, developers page 22 May 2026, disclaimers 5 March 2025, platform privacy statement 25 March 2025), but no page read describes a change-notification mechanism, version history or notice period for changes to the model, the corpus, the privacy notice or the disclaimers. The chatbot page says the operator will 'keep iterating based on what we learn'. | How will a material change to the model, the corpus or the privacy notice be notified, and is a version history of the privacy notice available? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice); [For Developers - IP First Response (last updated 22 May 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/developers); [Disclaimers - IP First Response (last updated 5 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/disclaimers) |
| Export and exit | Public claim only | The chatbot page states: 'The chatbot is stateless. Once your session ends, nothing from that conversation is retained in your web browser. If you want to keep your conversation, make sure to download it!' The download format is not stated. There is no account, so there is no account export; no organisational export of stored interaction records is described. | In what format does a conversation download, and can an organisation obtain or delete the interaction records associated with its use? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |
| Connectors and content feed | Public claim only | The chatbot itself is not described as connecting to any external system. In the other direction, the For Developers page (22 May 2026) publishes the whole platform content as a structured feed at https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/options-data-feed, described as 'a structured version of all content, designed to plug into AI tools', and names internal IP assistants, user-facing chatbots and in-product guidance as things it could be used to build. The feed itself was not fetched. | Is the options data feed stable, versioned and dated, and what notice is given before its structure changes? | [For Developers - IP First Response (last updated 22 May 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/developers) |
| Open-web access | Public claim only | The chatbot page states: 'The chatbot doesn't have access to the open internet. If the answer isn't on our shelf, it should tell you it doesn't know.' The second sentence is conditional as published. The same page states that a question outside the tool's remit may prompt the chatbot to say it cannot help or to ask follow-up questions. | Is the refusal behaviour enforced by the system or dependent on the model following instructions, and has the rate of out-of-corpus answering been measured? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |
| Agent actions | Public claim only | Nothing in the chatbot page, developers page, privacy notice, disclaimers or news item describes the chatbot taking any action beyond returning text, links to the pages it used, and pre-written follow-up questions for the user to select. No email, filing, lodgement or write-back to any IP Australia system is described, and the chatbot is separate from the agency's transactional online services. | Does the chatbot, now or on the roadmap, take any action beyond returning text, for example lodging, pre-filling or emailing on a user's behalf? | [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot); [Introducing IP First Response's new chatbot - IP Australia news (published 04 May 2026)](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/news-and-community/news/introducing-ip-first-response-new-chatbot) |
| Human review before reliance | Public claim only | The Chatbot Privacy Notice states that the chatbot 'may get some information incorrect or otherwise present information in a false or misleading way', that a user seeking information important to their situation 'should always check the original source', and that 'You are responsible for validating any information presented to you by the chatbot before relying on it.' The chatbot links the exact pages used so a user can check them. No operator-side review of individual responses before display is described. | What monitoring or sampling of chatbot responses does IP Australia perform after release, and are corrections published when a response is found to be wrong? | [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice); [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) |

## Notes

Seven pages read, including the chatbot privacy notice (the consent document), the disclaimers page and the IP Australia security statement, which are the closest things to binding documents for a free public tool with no customer contract. Not reached within the four-operation budget: IP Australia's agency Privacy Policy at https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/our-agency/privacy, which is where access, correction, complaint and deletion process would be stated; the alpha and beta products page at https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/alpha-and-beta-products, which would settle the release stage; and the chat endpoint itself at https://chat.ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/. Unpublished on the pages read: retention period, deletion route for an anonymous conversation, the Anthropic model name and version, any subprocessor list, any independent assurance report, and any breach-notification commitment. facts.ownership is recorded as 'public' because the controlled vocabulary has no value for a government agency; the operator is a Commonwealth Government agency and not a listed company. No ABN or ACN was found on any page read. Segment is intake-client-service, matching the Phase 2 record; legal-research is equally arguable on the facts because the tool answers questions over a curated corpus, and Phase 2 recorded the same tension. Both capability values are the closest defensible existing ones rather than a comfortable fit: a public legal-information front door published by a regulator is not what either value names. Capability list updated 2026-09-27 when the controlled vocabulary was extended from 19 to 38 values: added public-legal-guidance. Values already present were kept, because they remain true descriptions of what the product does.

## Sources

- [About the AI Chatbot - IP First Response (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-the-chatbot) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [For Developers - IP First Response (last updated 22 May 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/developers) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Introducing IP First Response's new chatbot - IP Australia news (published 04 May 2026)](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/news-and-community/news/introducing-ip-first-response-new-chatbot) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [IP First Response Chatbot Privacy Notice (last updated 22 Apr 2026)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/chatbot-privacy-notice) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Disclaimers - IP First Response (last updated 5 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/disclaimers) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Security statement - IP Australia](https://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/about-us/about-this-site/security-statement) (checked 2026-09-27)
- [Privacy - IP First Response privacy collection statement (last updated 25 Mar 2025)](https://ipfirstresponse.ipaustralia.gov.au/privacy) (checked 2026-09-27)

A product profile is research to support questions. It does not approve a product for any firm. Public product information supports questions; it does not approve a product for your firm. Verify the exact plan, settings and signed terms.
