---
title: "Habeas (Habeas)"
url: "https://ailawframework.com/software/habeas"
type: "software_profile"
site: "AI Law Framework"
id: "habeas"
vendor: "Habeas"
category: "Legal-specific"
segment: "Legal research"
confidence: "medium"
last_reviewed: "2026-09-20"
---

# Habeas (Habeas)

> Australian legal-research and drafting assistant grounded in Australian case law and legislation, aimed at litigators, boutiques and in-house teams.

Canonical page: https://ailawframework.com/software/habeas  
Last reviewed: 2026-09-20

Site index for agents: https://ailawframework.com/llms.txt

Plan covered: Self-serve Sole Practitioner / Professional (AUD, published) versus Legal Firms/Enterprise (contact). Azure-hosted models are described as an option for larger firms.

## Capabilities

- Legal research
- Case-law summarisation
- Contract drafting
- Document summarisation

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Deployment | SaaS |
| Hosting regions | Australia |
| Australian region | Yes |
| Model providers | Anthropic, Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure |
| Training on customer content | No |
| Retention | Conversations and uploads can be deleted in-product; account data while the account is active. Anonymised aggregated usage may be retained. Subprocessor list on request for procurement. |
| Integrations | Smokeball (logo), Lawpath (logo) |
| Legal content coverage | Vendor says every output is grounded in Australian case law and legislation, cited to paragraph level. Confirm corpus completeness (authorised reports, unreported, tribunals, states) in a trial. |
| Pricing | Sole Practitioner AUD 125/month (500 queries, 200 uploads); Professional AUD 200/month (1000 queries, 1000 uploads/month); 14-day free trial. Enterprise is contact-us with fair-use unlimited search. |
| Australian presence | Yes. Founded 2023. Databases hosted in Australia. Logos include UNSW, Smokeball, Lawpath and many small firms/chambers; treat logos as claimed customers, not independently verified retainers. Legal policy claims design alignment with NSW SC Gen 23. |
| Website | https://www.habeas.ai |

## What the research found

| Topic | Status | Finding | Open question | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-serve versus enterprise | Public claim only | Published AUD plans with query/upload caps; enterprise is custom. Azure models are an option for larger firms, not necessarily the self-serve default. | Which plan, query caps and Azure option will we buy? | [Habeas — pricing](https://www.habeas.ai/pricing); [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Australian hosting | Public claim only | Legal policy: databases hosted in Australia with per-organisation isolation. Models may run via Azure, Bedrock or Anthropic enterprise APIs. | Confirm storage and inference countries for our plan, including Bedrock/Azure regions. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy); [Habeas — AI security blog](https://www.habeas.ai/blog/ai-security) |
| Research and assistants | Public claim only | Closed-corpus search, paragraph-level citations, custom assistants, document upload. Hallucination mitigation is claimed via the Australian corpus. | Which assistants are in our licence, and can we disable upload? | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai) |
| Australian law corpus | Public claim only | Expansive corpus of Australian case law, legislation and regulatory materials is claimed. Completeness versus Westlaw/Lexis/JADE is unproven. | List courts, date ranges and whether authorised reports and current consolidations are included. | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai) |
| Published pricing | Public claim only | AUD 125 and 200 monthly self-serve tiers with query caps; enterprise contact. Overage when caps are exceeded is not stated. | What happens at the query cap, and what is the enterprise minimum term? | [Habeas — pricing](https://www.habeas.ai/pricing) |
| Integrations | Public claim only | Smokeball and Lawpath logos appear. Custom integrations are an enterprise bullet. No Word add-in was described. | Which integrations are live, and do they honour PMS permissions? | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai); [Habeas — pricing](https://www.habeas.ai/pricing) |
| Support | Public claim only | Enterprise includes onboarding and training. Self-serve support SLA unknown. | What are support hours and the security contact? | [Habeas — pricing](https://www.habeas.ai/pricing) |
| Quality | Not confirmed | Paragraph-level citation is claimed. No independent benchmark was found. | May we trial on our Australian problems with a scored error log? | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai) |
| Task fit | Public claim only | Fit is Australian research and first drafts grounded in that corpus. Uploading client files is optional; research-only use is supported. | Will we use research-only mode, or also upload matter documents? | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai); [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| SC Gen 23 positioning | Public claim only | Legal policy asserts the product is built to comply with NSW SC Gen 23 for dedicated legal research software with non-training safeguards. That is the vendor's reading, not a court endorsement. Uploads remain a disclosure. | Provide the written SC Gen 23 analysis and a client-disclosure template. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Providers | Public claim only | Anthropic via Azure/Bedrock or Anthropic enterprise is given as an example. AWS and Google Cloud are named as subprocessors. Exact production mix is 'on request'. | Name the providers and regions on our tenancy. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Subprocessors | Public claim only | Full list available on request in procurement. AWS and Google Cloud are named. No public dated list or objection right. | Provide the current list, locations, notice and flow-down of no-training. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| No training on client data | Public claim only | Legal policy: queries, conversations and uploads are not used to train or fine-tune any model; retrieved documents are never used to train; public data is used to train models (security blog). Enterprise-tier API no-store/no-train guarantees are claimed. | Point to the signed API terms and confirm they apply to self-serve as well as enterprise. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy); [Habeas — AI security blog](https://www.habeas.ai/blog/ai-security) |
| Aggregated usage | Public claim only | Anonymised aggregated usage may be retained for performance trends. Not Subscriber Content training. | Can query text appear in aggregated analytics? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Retention | Public claim only | Content not retained beyond what is necessary to provide the service and legal obligations. In-product deletion of conversations and uploads. Default periods not numbered. | State default retention for chats, uploads, embeddings and backups. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Deletion | Public claim only | Users can delete conversations, uploads or the whole account in-product. Certification on exit not described. | On account deletion, are embeddings and provider logs purged, and will you certify? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Personnel access | Public claim only | Production access restricted to authorised personnel under RBAC. No customer-visible access log described. | When can staff read content, and is it logged for us? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Access | Not confirmed | Session timeouts and suspicious-activity detection are claimed. SSO/SCIM not described for self-serve. | Is SSO/MFA/SCIM available on enterprise? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Encryption | Public claim only | Encrypted in transit and at rest. Azure option adds Azure's encryption. Algorithms not named. | Name TLS/AES versions and whether customer keys are available. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy); [Habeas — AI security blog](https://www.habeas.ai/blog/ai-security) |
| Assurance | Not confirmed | Regular security reviews and vulnerability assessments claimed. AWS/GCP certifications are the cloud providers', not Habeas's. No Habeas SOC 2/ISO claim found. | Does Habeas hold SOC 2 or ISO 27001, and will you share a pen-test summary? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy); [Habeas — AI security blog](https://www.habeas.ai/blog/ai-security) |
| Legal policy versus MSA | Public claim only | Public legal-policy page, not a signed MSA/DPA. Governing law not extracted. Enterprise likely has a separate agreement. | Provide the MSA, DPA, liability cap and Australian law/forum for our plan. | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Inference versus storage | Public claim only | Databases hosted in Australia. Model calls may go to Azure/Bedrock/Anthropic enterprise; region not specified. | Does any prompt leave Australia on our plan, and what is the APP 8 basis? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Incidents | Not confirmed | No public breach-notification timeline. | What notice period from discovery will you contract? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Changes | Not confirmed | Not documented. | How are model or hosting changes notified? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Exit | Public claim only | In-product account deletion. Export format unknown. | How do we export chats and uploads before deletion? | [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Connectors | Not confirmed | Enterprise custom integrations mentioned; not specified. | List connectors and residual copies after disconnect. | [Habeas — pricing](https://www.habeas.ai/pricing) |
| Closed corpus | Public claim only | Research is described as over Habeas's Australian corpus, not the open web. Confirm no fallback web search. | Can any skill call the open web? | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai); [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) |
| Agency | Public claim only | Custom assistants are described; autonomous email/DMS actions were not. | Can assistants take actions outside the Habeas UI? | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai) |
| Citations | Public claim only | Paragraph-level citations to Australian law are the verification path. Lawyer checking remains required. | Show 'no source' behaviour and pinpoint links on our sample questions. | [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai) |

## Notes

Published AUD pricing and a relatively specific legal-policy page. No independent SOC 2. Subprocessor list on request. Model inference region versus Australian database hosting must be confirmed. SC Gen 23 claim is vendor self-assessment.

## Sources

- [Habeas — home](https://www.habeas.ai) (checked 2026-09-20)
- [Habeas — pricing](https://www.habeas.ai/pricing) (checked 2026-09-20)
- [Habeas — legal policy](https://www.habeas.ai/legal-policy) (checked 2026-09-20)
- [Habeas — AI security blog](https://www.habeas.ai/blog/ai-security) (checked 2026-09-20)

A product profile is research to support questions. It does not approve a product for any firm. Public product information supports questions; it does not approve a product for your firm. Verify the exact plan, settings and signed terms.
