---
title: "DeepL Pro / Write Pro (DeepL SE)"
url: "https://ailawframework.com/software/deepl"
type: "software_profile"
site: "AI Law Framework"
id: "deepl"
vendor: "DeepL SE"
category: "General-purpose"
segment: "Drafting assistants"
confidence: "medium"
last_reviewed: "2026-10-10"
---

# DeepL Pro / Write Pro (DeepL SE)

> Machine translation and writing assistant. Pro marketing states no data training. EU vendor. Access control and certifications were not on the Pro marketing page.

Canonical page: https://ailawframework.com/software/deepl  
Last reviewed: 2026-10-10

Site index for agents: https://ailawframework.com/llms.txt

Plan covered: DeepL Pro, Business and Write Pro. Free DeepL is out of scope (training terms differ).

## Capabilities

- Translation
- Contract drafting

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Deployment | SaaS |
| Hosting regions | European Union / EEA, Unknown |
| Australian region | Unknown |
| Model providers | DeepL |
| Assurance | GDPR: the vendor's own page states "g?w=1024&fm=webp&q=85) ## Rigorous regulatory compliance and data protection DeepL adheres to the GDPR—one of the strictest data protection and privacy laws worldwide—ensuring your d" (https://www.deepl.com/en/pro-data-security, checked 2026-10-10)., HIPAA: the vendor's own page states "it logs give compliance teams visibility and control over DeepL account activity. - DeepL achieved HIPAA compliance, extending its security standards to organizations handling protecte" (https://www.deepl.com/en/blog/new-security-features-innovation, checked 2026-10-10)., ISO 27001: the vendor's own page states "erprise SOC 2 Type 2 compliance - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise ISO 27001 certified - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise TLS" (https://www.deepl.com/pro, checked 2026-10-10). |
| Training on customer content | No |
| Retention | Pro page: texts are never stored or used for model training without your consent. That is not a statement that texts are never stored. |
| Pricing | Pro and Business SKUs are publicly listed; exact amounts were not cleanly extracted in this scrape. A vendor page checked 2026-10-10 states "$7.49 per user/month (billed annually)". |
| Australian presence | Unknown. EU-based vendor; AU residency not stated. |
| Website | https://www.deepl.com/pro |

## What the research found

| Topic | Status | Finding | Open question | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Plan | Public claim only | DeepL Pro / Business / Write Pro. Consumer DeepL (free) is different. Pro markets 'No data training'. | Confirm Pro/Business not free. | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Deployment | Public claim only | SaaS translation. EU company. | Which data centre region? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Features | Public claim only | Translation and Write Pro writing assistant. | CAT tool / Word add-in? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Australia | Not confirmed | German/EU vendor; AU residency not on the Pro page extract. | AU or EU-only processing? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Pricing | Public claim only | Pro is a paid individual/team SKU; Business listed. Amounts not extracted cleanly. A vendor page checked 2026-10-10 states "$7.49 per user/month (billed annually)". | Itemised quote. | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Integration | Not confirmed | Integrations not fully listed. | SSO on Business? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Support | Not confirmed | Not specified. | SLA? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Quality | Not confirmed | No legal-translation benchmark here. | Legal-term accuracy AU/UK? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| Task fit | Not confirmed | Fit for translating non-privileged or already-approved text. Privileged matter needs the Pro no-training contract and access controls. | Approved document classes? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| clientAuthority | Not confirmed | Translated client documents. | Client disclosure? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| modelProvider | Public claim only | DeepL's own models marketed. | Any third-party LLM? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| subprocessors | Not confirmed | Not listed on Pro marketing. | List? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| trainingUse | Public claim only | Pro page: No data training. Put in the contract; free tier is different. | Signed no-training for Pro/Business including logs? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| feedbackUse | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Feedback training? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| retention | Not confirmed | Pro historically does not store texts; confirm current. | Is text stored after translation? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| deletion | Not confirmed | If stored, deletion terms? | Deletion on exit? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| humanAccess | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Staff access to texts? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| accessControl | Not confirmed | Business admin unknown here. | SSO/SCIM? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| encryption | Not confirmed | Not on Pro marketing extract. | TLS/AES? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| assurance | Public claim only | Certifications not on the Pro marketing extract. GDPR: the vendor's own page states "g?w=1024&fm=webp&q=85) ## Rigorous regulatory compliance and data protection DeepL adheres to the GDPR—one of the strictest data protection and privacy laws worldwide—ensuring your d" (https://www.deepl.com/en/pro-data-security, checked 2026-10-10). HIPAA: the vendor's own page states "it logs give compliance teams visibility and control over DeepL account activity. - DeepL achieved HIPAA compliance, extending its security standards to organizations handling protecte" (https://www.deepl.com/en/blog/new-security-features-innovation, checked 2026-10-10). ISO 27001: the vendor's own page states "erprise SOC 2 Type 2 compliance - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise ISO 27001 certified - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise TLS" (https://www.deepl.com/pro, checked 2026-10-10). SOC 2: the vendor's own page states "- Enterprise Bring your own key - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterprise SOC 2 Type 2 compliance - Free version - Individual - Team - Business - Enterpri" (https://www.deepl.com/pro, checked 2026-10-10). | SOC/ISO? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro); [GDPR on the vendor's site](https://www.deepl.com/en/pro-data-security); [HIPAA on the vendor's site](https://www.deepl.com/en/blog/new-security-features-innovation) |
| contract | Not confirmed | Pro terms not inspected. | DPA, forum (likely DE/EU)? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| transfers | Public claim only | EU vendor; still confirm subprocessors. | APP 8? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| incidents | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Notice timeline? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| changes | Not confirmed | Write Pro expanding. | Notice? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| exit | Not confirmed | Not specified. | Export glossary then delete? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| connectors | Not confirmed | API/CAT possible. | Enabled connectors? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| webSearch | Not confirmed | Translation product. | Any web grounding? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| actionControl | Not confirmed | In-place rewrite/translate. | Require accept of changes? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |
| humanReview | Not confirmed | Lawyer must check legal translations. | Review log? | [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) |

## Notes

T3 short record. Free vs Pro training split is the key control. Certifications not on the Pro page. Confidence raised from low to medium on 2026-10-10 because a security or hosting quote on the vendor's own domain was applied.

## Sources

- [DeepL Pro](https://www.deepl.com/pro) (checked 2026-09-20)
- [DeepL Pro (cached)](https://www.deepl.com/pro) (checked 2026-09-20)
- [GDPR on the vendor's site](https://www.deepl.com/en/pro-data-security) (checked 2026-10-10)
- [HIPAA on the vendor's site](https://www.deepl.com/en/blog/new-security-features-innovation) (checked 2026-10-10)

A product profile is research to support questions. It does not approve a product for any firm. Public product information supports questions; it does not approve a product for your firm. Verify the exact plan, settings and signed terms.
